• Football

    Brian Cross is 218-124 as a head coach and has spent the last six seasons at Olentangy Orange.

    Ready selects veteran Cross as new coach

    Ready High School has turned to a veteran to build on one of its best football seasons.
  • Football

    New Gahanna Lincoln football coach Bruce Ward talks with members of his team during a meeting in the school's auditorium on Dec. 17. Ward, who played and later was an assistant coach at Fairmont State, spent the last 13 years coaching at Beechcroft.

    Ward preaching 'pride factor'

    While growing up in Portsmouth in southern Ohio, Bruce Ward experienced what it was like to be a part of a community whose biggest events every fall often involved that week's high school football game.

2013 Season


Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 | Week 4
Week 5 | Week 6 | Week 7 | Week 8
Week 9 | Week 10


Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 | Week 4 | Week 5
Week 6 | Week 7 | Week 8 | Week 9 | Week 10
Week 11 | Week 12 | Week 13 | Week 14
Week 15



Capital | Cardinal | Central | Ohio


Gold | Silver


North | South


Big School | Small School 


Buckeye | Cardinal | Ohio

Final Super 7

1. Hilliard Davidson

2. Westerville Central

3. Worthington Kilbourne

4. Pickerington North

5. New Albany

6. Hartley

7. Marion-Franklin

Also receiving votes: Ready, Hilliard Darby

Coverage Partners

•JJ Huddle
•The Columbus Dispatch

2013 Season
Preview Guide

In-depth previews of 72 central Ohio high school football teams 

Season Archives

ThisWeek's sportswriters and photographers provide in-depth football game recaps on Friday nights throughout the fall.


Top Stories


Venue change could boost interest in football finals

Considering his team has lost three state semifinals since 2009, it's not surprising what Marion-Franklin High School football coach Brian Haffele thinks about holding the championship games in Columbus the next two seasons.

On the Recruiting Trail: Scioto's Conner, Walnut Ridge's McKee among top '15 football recruits

Considering the spring can be a quiet time for high school football fans, it seems like a good time to take a look at what some of central Ohio's hottest 2015 prospects will be up to over the coming months.

Brookhaven's White, staff hired by Beechcroft

It didn’t take long for Brookhaven High School football coach Trevor White and his coaching staff to land on its feet.

Ohio North-South Classic rosters announced

The Ohio North-South Classic announced rosters for its football games that will be held April 26 at Welcome Stadium in Dayton.
Licking County Prep Notes

Newark hires Kopachy as coach

A pair of struggling high school football programs in Licking County will have new football coaches.

Golden named coach at Delaware

Mike Golden has been named football coach at Delaware Hayes High School.

Westland names Goebbel as coach

Kyle Goebbel is looking forward to his first varsity football head coaching assignment.

Cutler set to instill life lessons

Akili Taylor is positive that future Upper Arlington High School football players will benefit from having Joel Cutler as their coach in the same way he did the past two seasons playing for Ready.

Grove City hires Lanza as new coach

Mike Lanza thought it was time to return to the sideline.

Hopkins named coach at Thomas Worthington

Rodney Hopkins has been named the Thomas Worthington High School football coach.

Delaware looking for new coach

Delaware Hayes High School athletics director Clint Fetty is hoping to have a football coach named by mid-February.

Schroeder returns home as new Orange coach

Zebb Schroeder came back home Jan. 6 when he was named coach of the Olentangy Orange High School football team.

Mauro returns to coach Canal Winchester

Phil Mauro, who guided the Canal Winchester High School football team to an unprecedented level of success from 2007 to 2010, has accepted an offer to return as coach.

Area players named all-state

The following is a list compiled by ThisWeekSPORTS.com of the central Ohio high school football players in our coverage area that received all-state recognition in Division I-VI.

Cross steps down as Orange coach

Brian Cross, the only coach in the history of the Olentangy Orange High School football program, resigned Nov. 22.

Hinkle resigns as Canal Winchester coach

Shawn Hinkle has resigned after three seasons as coach of the Canal Winchester High School football team.
Ready Roundup

Football team falls short in state semi

Held below 26 points for just the second time this season, the football team lost to Kirtland 10-7 in a Division VI state semifinal Nov. 29 at Arlin Field in Mansfield to finish 12-2.

Coach proud of 'banged-up' New Albany team

First-year New Albany High School football coach Pat Samanich stood near the north end zone at DeSales, huddling with his players.

All-Central District team released

The 2013 Associated Press All-Central District football teams, as selected by a media panel from the district.

OCC announces all-conference teams

The Ohio Capital Conference has released its all-conference team for the 2013 football season.


Division I, Region 2 Final

Hilliard Davidson loses to Cincinnati Moeller 13-11.

Division V, State Semi

Hartley beats Akron Manchester 49-22.

Division VI State Semi

Ready loses to top-ranked Kirtland 10-7.
more slideshows