Unopposed races

Top vote-getters: Johnson for board, Rauck for trustee


The incumbents on both the South-Western Board of Education and the Jackson Township Board of Trustees were all re-elected unopposed on Election Day, Nov. 5.

Returning to the school board will be Karen Dover, Cathy Johnson and Lee Schreiner while David Burris and Jim Rauck will be back as trustees for the township.

With 102 of 106 precincts reporting, Johnson, a retired school teacher, returns for her fourth term as the top vote-getter, receiving 5,874 votes, according to unofficial results from the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Schreiner, also a retired teacher and a former gifted education teacher with the district, was elected to his first term, having been appointed to his seat in July by the board to complete the term of Jo Ellen Myers. He received 5,626 votes.

Dover, CFO of Crossline Management Services, was elected to her second term with 5,461 votes.

Initially, Robert Ragland filed to run for school board but withdrew before the official ballot was made.

With all 36 precincts in the township reporting, Burris recorded 2,807 votes, and Rauck got 2,860, according to unofficial results from the elections board.

Burris, the current board chairman, will return to the board of trustees for his fifth term next year.

This marks Rauck’s first election to a full four-year term as a trustee, having been originally appointed to fill a vacancy for six months and then elected to finish the remaining two years, in 2011.