Pickerington School Board

Voters elect Sanders, Olshefski and Niekamp


Two incumbents were re-elected to the Pickerington Local School District Board of Education Tuesday and newcomer Vanessa Niekamp won her first term.

Current school board members Lori Sanders and Cathy Olshefski each were re-elected to another four years in office Tuesday, in a four-way race for three school board seats, according to unofficial final results from the Fairfield County Board of Elections.

Niekamp, a 43-year-old executive director of the Ohio Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, was elected to the board for the first time.

Incumbent Clay Lopez was defeated in his re-election bid for a second term.

The night’s top vote-getter was Sanders, 52, the board’s longest-tenured member.

She was elected to her fifth term after garning 2,578 votes (28.55 percent), according to unofficial results from the Fairfield County Board of Elections.

According to other unofficial results, Niekamp finished second with 2,284 votes (25.3 percent), and Olshefski was re-elected with 2,093 votes (23.18 percent).

Olshefski, 52, appeared to have defeated Lopez, 38, by just 19 votes. Lopez received 2,074 (22.97 percent).