township race

Smith joins incumbent Oberle as Sharon trustee


Phillip Smith will join incumbent John Oberle on the Sharon Township board of trustees.

The two won the election for trustee positions Nov. 5 while three write-in candidates came in far behind the two leaders.

Oberle, who lives in Riverlea and has been a trustee for eight years, came in first with 2,152 votes, according to unofficial results from the Franklin County Board of Elections.

Smith, of Rosslyn Avenue, received 1,249 votes.

Write-in candidate John Haueisen received 672 votes, followed by write-in Craig Mayton with 605 votes and write-in Slade Hankinson with 66 votes.

The write-ins entered the race after the elections board ruled incomplete the nominating petitions of incumbent Linda Jarrett.

Voters in the city of Worthington and the village of Riverlea vote for Sharon Township trustees, though most of the business done by the board covers only the unincorporated portions of the township.