71st, 72nd Ohio House Districts

Licking County incumbents retain Ohio House seats


Incumbents Jay Hottinger (R-Newark) and Bill Hayes (R-Pataskala) retained their seats in the Ohio House of Representatives, according to unofficial results Nov. 6 from the Licking County Board of Elections.

Hottinger, who has represented the 71st Ohio House District since 2007, was winning with all precincts reporting. The unofficial results showed there were 31,912 votes cast for Hottinger and 19,739 votes cast for his opponent, Democrat Brady Jones.

The 71st District’s new boundaries, redrawn last year, still encompass about half of Licking County, including most of Pataskala and all of Granville, Heath, Johnstown and Newark. The district also includes a small section of Reynoldsburg.

Hayes, who now represents the 72nd Ohio House District, was winning with all precincts reporting. There were 14,769 votes cast for Hayes and 7,283 votes cast for Democrat David Dilly.

The 72nd District formerly was the 91st, but the newly drawn state legislature districts take effect this election cycle. The district’s new boundaries encompass about half of Licking County – primarily its eastern and southern portions – and much of Coshocton and Perry counties. The district also touches the eastern city limits of Pataskala and Reynoldsburg.