Bexley News

District's Latin students stand out among exam entrants

Students from Bexley Middle School and Bexley High School earned recognition in the 2013 National Latin Exam given in March under the joint sponsorship of' the American Classical League and the National Junior Classical League.

The test is an international competition covering grammar, culture, history and derivatives. According to, "more than 149,000 Latin students from all 50 states participated this past year, as did students from 13 foreign countries, including Australia, Mexico, Belgium, Canada, China, Italy, Japan, New Zealand, Poland, Switzerland, United Kingdom and Zimbabwe. This year for the first time, students from Bulgaria and Mozambique also took the NLE."

For the second year in a row, BMS eighth-grader Spencer Brooks achieved a perfect score on the exam.

Other Bexley Middle School students honored include:

Seventh grade -- Outstanding Achievement Certificate: Alexander Jacobson, William Hoyer, Benjamin Haidt and Anne Tobin; Achievement Certificate: Grant Heilman, Casey King, Nicole Hoyer, Edward Rice, Isaac Roe, Elin Hansen, Ethan Davis, Zander Hirsch, Dempsey Taglia, Eliot Clark and Zachary Gillam.

Eighth Grade Latin I -- Gold Medal Summa Cum Laude: Eric Crane, Aaron Touris, Jonathan Clark, Anna Martin, Nicholas LeBlanc and Lucas Fox; Silver Medal Maxima Cum Laude: Grace Maley, Jeffrey Stevens, Aaron Rothchild and Pater Hayden; Magna Cum Laude: Benjamin Martin, Isaiah Keller, Jacob Cohen and Micah Cohen; Cum Laude: Luke Giannoutsos, Ismail Jallaq and John Corcella.

Bexley High Schools winners include:

Latin II -- Gold Medal Summa Cum Laude: Spencer Brooks, Hannah Fetters, Cameron Hall, Riley Hayden and Micah Goldson; Magna Cum Laude: Emily Grace, Jacob Davis, Emalee Kerr, Emma Schmitz, Lexi Rubinstein and Luke Dawley; Cum Laude: Benjamin Durell, Brendan Gandal, Sarah Imwalle and Georgia Curran.

Latin III -- Gold Medal Summa Cum Laude: Patrick Arace; Silver Medal Maxima Cum Laude: Eman Jallaq, Taylor Farthing and James Tobin; Magna Cum Laude: Gracy Trinoskey-Rice, Matthew Mendivil, Ethan Bredemeier, Jonathan Giannoutsos and Kara Friedman; Cum Laude: Elizabeth Jaffy, Matthew Irwin, Isabelle Burgdoff and Kathryn Bringman.

Latin IV -- Silver Medal Maxima Cum Laude: Eric Maxwell.

Latin V -- AP (Advanced Placement) Gold Medal: Peter Kirschner.