Miller stays on as CAC chairman


Daniel B. Miller, the Clintonville Area Commission's District 4 representative, will continue to serve as the group's chairman.

Miller was the lone nominee for the post during last week's annual organizational meeting, at which two new representatives took their seats for the first time. Randy Ketcham was elected unopposed in District 6. District 3 now is represented by Elizabeth "Libby" Wetherholt, who won election over former CAC member Clare Balombin.

Rob Wood of District 1 and Kristopher Keller of District 8 were absent from the session.

In his absence, Wood was nominated for the office of vice chairman and elected unanimously.

Miller nominated both Dana K.J. Bagwell of District 5 and District 9's D Searcy to serve as secretary. Bagwell received the votes of five commission members, including her own Jason Meek of District 7 voted for Searcy, who also cast her ballot for herself.

Meek volunteered to stay on as the panel's treasurer.

Miller reappointed Meek to head a special safety and crime committee and Bagwell as chairwoman of the special panel that deals with mobile food vendors.

Andrew Overbeck was named to another term as chairman of the planning and development committee. Bagwell will continue to serve as head of zoning and variances.

Former CAC member Mike Folmar was appointed chairman of the elections committee, with Ketcham volunteering to serve as the commission's liaison.

Also at last week's meeting, commission members unanimously approved changes to the bylaws that had been proposed by a task force led by Folmar. These alterations clarify terms of office and when special elections should be held to fill vacancies; formally create the offices of treasurer, recording secretary and webmaster; and deal with how to modify the regular schedule for meetings.

Folmar was asked to continue to lead the bylaws task force to come up with further clarification on the process for calling special meetings, the length of time task forces will exist and the exact boundary line between Districts 6 and 9.