Watterson Roundup

Griffith leads girls track team to title at CSG meet


The Watterson High School girls track and field team won the nine-team Columbus School for Girls Invitational on April 27.

The Eagles scored 136 points to finish ahead of runner-up CSG (123).

Amy Griffith had the Eagles' only first-place finish, winning the 1,600 meters in 5 minutes, 40.2 seconds.

Placing second were Claire Diorio in the 1,600 (5:41.5), Lindy Gill in the discus (73 feet, 10 inches), Marissa Wierzbicki in the shot put (30-1 1/4), the 800 relay of Hannah Smith, Leah Paskell, Hanna Merklin and Kelly Kimble (1:54.9) and the 400 relay of Hannah Anthony, Paulina Eberts, Maria Hoge and Elizabeth Racher (53.0).

The boys team placed second (102) of seven teams in the CSG Invitational, behind Bexley (136).

Joe Mankovecky won the high jump in 6-8 1/4 and Dominic Lombardi won the 300 hurdles in 39.6. Both were program records.

Also winning were the 800 relay of Lombardi, Ryan Urquhart, Cody Calhoun and Andy Cotter (1:33.5), the 400 relay of Lombardi, Urquhart, Calhoun and Brad Kanney (44.9) and Lombardi in the 110 hurdles (15.5).

"To get two school records in one meet is great for the team," boys coach Matt McGowan said. "Joe has been constant with his jumping and barely missed 6-10. Dominic has worked hard and is our workhorse as he ran three events before the 300 hurdles. To set a school record after winning three events earlier in the day shows his strength and talent."

Boys lacrosse team wins first six games

The boys lacrosse team was 6-0 before playing Columbus Academy on May 1.

Watterson beat Olentangy Orange 12-8 on April 26 as attacker Eddie Passen had three goals and an assist and goalkeeper Jordan Lucki had 11 saves.

"Our team is very balanced, indicative of eight players scoring against Orange," coach Tom Foley said. "It is the smartest team I have coached with at least 10 players on National Honor Society. That transfers over to the IQ on the field."

The Eagles will play host to DeSales on Friday, May 3.

"DeSales is at full force with (attacker) J.T. Blubaugh coming back from injury to defeat St. Charles 7-5 (on April 27)," Foley said. "DeSales managed to go 4-1 without him because they are so well-coached and balanced.

"DeSales versus Watterson in any sport is very competitive and they still are the team to beat."

Passen (20 goals, 5 assists) was leading Watterson in scoring through six games, followed by attacker Matt Foley (13 goals, 11 assists), midfielder Patrick Pirrman (6 goals, 6 assists), attacker Reed Abahazie (9 goals, 2 assists) and midfielder Eli Kirk (7 goals, 2 assists).