The Delaware City School District has done it again -- it's graduated its best class of students yet.

The Delaware City School District has done it again -- it's graduated its best class of students yet.

Seniors donned their gowns and mortarboards Saturday, May 24, at Hayes High School to send off the 337 members of the class of 2014. Rock Jones, president of Ohio Wesleyan University, and seniors Emily Richards and Rachel Vonada were set to speak.

Superintendent Paul Craft said students continue to improve year after year, adding the class of 2014 is the best class the Delaware City School District has seen.

"Not only is it the best class we've ever graduated, but it is also the largest as the district continues to get bigger each year," Craft said.

The class has received $1.9 million in scholarship offers -- also a new record. Graduates also have the highest OGT, ACT and SAT scores of any previous class.

"On a more broad level, this class has great character," Craft said. "These students are into volunteerism and making connections within the community that can be seen through things like fundraising for the American Heart Association."

The class of 2014's National Honor Society took the lead in fundraising for the American Heart Association and raised the second-highest amount of any school district in the state of Ohio, Craft said.

The school's basketball and wrestling teams set high marks as well, with the latter reaching the state tournament for the first time.

"Athletically, musically and intellectually ... by every measure I can find to compare them, this is an amazing group of students," Craft said.

He said the majority of graduates are going on to a higher level of education. "We've been sending the message to them since middle school that their education will not end when they walk down the football field to receive their diploma," he said.

The class of 2014's valedictorians are Amy Tran, Emily Brooke Richards, Emma Trippier, Jason T. Watkins and Lily Catherine Wiest.

Class salutatorians are Emily Elaine Flaugher, John Homan, Natalie Lynn Koeritzer, Maya Ely McCabe, Olivia J. Nichol, Seamus O'Flaherty, Elizabeth Christine Russell, Rachael Michelle Vonada and Hope M. Walls.