Dublin Villager

On the Move

The Ohio Pharmacists Association (OPA) has announced that Cathy Kuhn, R.Ph., PharmD, of Dublin is the 2013 recipient of the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award.

Additionally, Kuhn was installed as executive committee member-at-large at the OPA 135th annual conference held in April in Columbus.

The Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award recognizes a pharmacist who has graduated in the last 10 years and made significant contributions to the pharmacy profession. The award is sponsored by Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Company.

Kuhn serves on the American Pharmacists Association's (APhA) editorial advisory board of Pharmacy Today publication, and from 2010-2012 was new practitioner officer for the community/ambulatory section of APhA's Academy of Pharmacy Practice and Management, for which she also was a member of the Education Committee and Medication Therapy Management Task Force.

In 2011, she was awarded the APhA Distinguished New Practitioner Award. As an assistant professor at the South Carolina College of Pharmacy, she implemented a community pharmacy residency program and a Medication Therapy Management (MTM) elective course.

Kuhn is the MTM coordinator for the Kroger Patient Care Center, Columbus Division. She earned a B.S. in business administration prior to her PharmD degree at Ohio Northern University College of Pharmacy and completed a community pharmacy practice residency at the Ohio State University. She also volunteers at Grace in the City and Northwest Chapel.

OPA, established in 1879, represents more than 4,000 pharmacists, pharmacy educators and pharmacy students throughout the state. It is OPA's mission to unite the profession of pharmacy and encourage interprofessional relations, while promoting public health through education, discussion and legislation.