Michael Keenan will lead Dublin City Council as mayor.

Michael Keenan will lead Dublin City Council as mayor.

Keenan, an at-large council member since 2004, will serve as mayor for two years, leading council meetings and representing the city at events.

"It's an honor to serve as your mayor," Keenan said, noting he plans to keep the seat for only one term.

"I've always felt this position should rotate," Keenan said. "I will not ask to serve beyond my two years. I think leadership should move every two years."

Councilman Richard Gerber will serve as vice mayor, leading council in Keenan's absence.

Gerber has been an at-large city councilman since 2008.

During the Jan. 13 meeting, four council members were also sworn in for new terms. Greg Peterson was sworn in as Ward 1 representative. He formerly served on council in the late 1990s.

Amy Salay was sworn in for her fourth term as Ward 2 representative.

John Reiner began his fifth full term on council when sworn in Jan. 13.

Former Mayor Tim Lecklider was sworn in as Ward 4 representative for his fourth term and thanked council for letting him lead for two terms.

"It's been a great honor to have served the last four years as mayor," he said. "I certainly appreciate it.

"There are a lot of things that stand out in my memory regarding some opportunities I had as mayor ... ," Lecklider said.

"Some that stand out are representing City Council and the city at the Intelligent Community Forum in New York."