Dublin Villager

Cross Country

Irish girls win meet at Otterbein

Led by three runners who placed in the top six, the Dublin Scioto High School girls cross country team won the 11-team Otterbein Invitational on Sept. 21 at Heritage Park.

The Irish scored 45 points to finish well ahead of runner-up Olentangy Liberty (83).

Shayla Wigand paced Scioto, finishing fourth in 21 minutes, 4.9 seconds. Also scoring were Vanessa Robinson (fifth, 21:06.2), Rebecca Groh (sixth, 21:06.5), Ariel Arellano (12th, 21:42.5) and Emily Trceciak (18th, 22:01.5).

The boys team finished seventh (194) of 12 teams in the event, behind champion Liberty (38).

Dylan Languis placed ninth (17:19.5) to lead the Irish. Also scoring were Ahmad Abusharkh (26th, 18:00.4), Michael Raabe (59th, 18:52.5), Griffin Flais (72nd, 19:05) and Daniel Guzak (74th, 19:06).

Coffman boys place second at Otterbein

The Coffman boys team placed second (41) in the Otterbein Invitational.

Zach Bons led the Shamrocks, placing third (17:04.5), with Simon Alford (fourth, 17:07.5) and John Graf (fifth, 17:08) also finishing in the top five. Rounding out the scoring were Steve Riley-Popovich (11th, 17:22.7) and Tommy Alford (18th, 17:47.6) scored.

The girls team finished fourth (98) in the event.

Emily Lynch placed 10th (21:30.9) to lead the Shamrocks. Also scoring were Sana Qamar (11th, 21:38.6), Rachel Bosworth (15th, 21:45.2), Piper Hayward (28th, 22:17.8) and Saydi Mangelson (34th, 22:32.7).

Jerome girls finish sixth at Otterbein

The Jerome girls team finished sixth (130) in the Otterbein Invitational.

Carly Davis paced the Celtics, placing second (20:34.6). Also scoring were Tiffany Hill (16th, 21:45.2), Brittney Berberick (21st, 22:04.3), Catey Midla (47th, 23:09.6) and Halley Bertison (61st, 23:36.9).

The boys team placed eighth (268) in the 52-team Valkyrie Invitational on Sept. 21 at Tom Sawyer State Park in Louisville, Ky. Carmel (Ind.) won the meet with 88 points.

Jake Mandel led the Celtics, finishing 18th (15:42.2). Bradley Davis (27th, 15:52.6) was next, followed by Chase Stewart (36th, 15:57.7), Brian King (97th, 16:39.1) and Nick Jarvis (118th, 16:55.2).

— Aaron Blankenship