Rocky Fork Enterprise

National Merit Scholarship

Lincoln, Academy students are named semifinalists


Officials of the National Merit Scholarship Corp. announced the names of nearly 16,000 semifinalists in the 58th annual National Merit Scholarship Program on Sept. 12.

Three Gahanna Lincoln High School students and 13 Columbus Academy students have been named semifinalists.

Lincoln High School students are Andrew Aldis, Clare Bacon and Erin Clepper.

Academy semifinalists are Maxwell Foley, formerly of Bexley when he took the PSAT, but he now attends Putney School in Vermont; Nicholas Grewal, New Albany; Nina Gurevitz, New Albany; Eliza Jaeger, German Village; Katrina Kent, Gahanna; William (goes by D'Arcy) Kenworthy, Columbus; Andy Li, New Albany; Victor Liu, Dublin; Neela Nataraj, Gahanna; Christopher Nolan, Powell; Sarah Poehlmann, Columbus; Ezer Smith, Bexley; and Frank Zhong, Worthington.

The academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 8,300 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring.

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship award, semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the finalist level of the competition.

About 90 percent of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and more than half of the finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title.