Rocky Fork Enterprise

Gahanna-Jefferson schools receive 23 applications for board seat


The Gahanna-Jefferson Board of Education has received 23 applications for the soon-to-be vacant seat of Heather Bishoff, who won her bid in November for the Ohio House of Representatives’ 20th District seat.

Candidates who filed letters of interest by the Dec. 7 deadline are Allen Sarkis Markarian, Beryl J. Piccolantonio, Charles Michael Steele, Daphne U. Moehring, Dewitt D. Harrell, Jason Paul Phillips, Jeffrey Paul Chrobak, Jonathon R. Shelton, Joseph Charles Schneider, Keith Paul Higginson, Lillian Grace Acker, Lisa V. Rankin, Mark Victor Shaffer, Mary E. Dixon, Matthew C. Winger, Matthew Paul Campbell, Melissa Carrie Sull, Nancy  Elizabeth Howard, Nicoleta Petrescu, Quentin Lyle Holmes, Ryan Patrick Demro, Toyia Devine and Virginia (Jeannie) M. Hoffman.

Bishoff has served on the board since January. She filed a letter of resignation to be effective Sunday, Dec. 30.

District public-information officer Michael Straughter said the appointee is expected to fill the vacancy by Jan. 10, 2013, coinciding with the board’s annual organization meeting.

For more on this story, read the Dec. 13 edition of ThisWeek Rocky Fork Enterprise