Educators, bankers and a computer engineer are among 23 applicants seeking an appointment to the Gahanna-Jefferson Board of Education.

Educators, bankers and a computer engineer are among 23 applicants seeking an appointment to the Gahanna-Jefferson Board of Education.

A board seat is being vacated by Heather Bishoff, owner and chief operating officer of The Bishoff Financial Group. She won her bid in November for the Ohio House of Representatives' 20th District seat. She filed a letter to resign from the board effective Sunday, Dec. 30.

Bishoff was elected to the board in November 2011, when she was the top vote-getter of five candidates for two open seats. The other seat was filled by Carol "Windy" McKenna, who won her fifth term on the board.

Jason Phillips and Mark Shaffer placed third and fourth, respectively, in the November 2011 election. They are among the 23 candidates who applied for the board appointment by the Dec. 7 deadline.

All of the candidates who applied for the board seat and their current work positions are as follows:

Allen Sarkis Markarian, controller, A2Z Field Services LLC.

Beryl J. Piccolantonio, hearing officer for the Ohio Industrial Commission.

Charles Michael Steele, teacher for the Columbus City Schools.

Daphne U. Moehring, vice-president of credit administration for Benchmark Bank.

Dewitt D. Harrell, chief financial officer at Columbus Metropolitan Library.

Jason Paul Phillips, high school educator with the Licking Heights Local School District.

Jeffrey Paul Chrobak, investigator for the Ohio Department of Education.

Jonathon R. Shelton, recruiting lead for Experis Consulting.

Joseph Charles Schneider, driver for DWF Wholesale Florist (retired deputy sheriff).

Keith Paul Higginson, senior analyst for Ellucian.

Lillian Grace Acker, teacher supervisor at Ashland University and Gahanna-Jefferson teacher from 1997 to July 2012.

Lisa V. Rankin, self-employed government-relations consultant.

Mark Victor Shaffer, computer engineer at Alcatel-Lucent USA Inc.

Mary E. Dixon, speech-language therapist for Physical Therapy Consultive Services.

Matthew C. Winger, business owner.

Matthew Paul Campbell, banker with JPMorgan Chase.

Melissa Carrie Sull, stay-at-home mom.

Nancy Elizabeth Howard, senior manager of IT applications at Abercrombie & Fitch.

Nicoleta Petrescu, business analyst at Chase.

Quentin Lyle Holmes, deputy director of the Ohio State Dental Board.

Ryan Patrick Demro, master teacher at the Academy for Urban Solutions, Columbus.

Toyia Devine, medical bill payment specialist for Careworks.

Virginia (Jeannie) M. Hoffman, owner of Jeannie Custom Embroidery.

G-J public-information officer Michael Straughter said the appointee is expected to fill the vacancy by Jan. 10, 2013, coinciding with the board's annual organization meeting.

Gahanna school board members receive $125 per meeting, with a cap of $3,000 for 24 meetings annually.