Rocky Fork Enterprise

Jefferson trustee facing challengers; Mifflin's running unopposed


Jefferson Township voters will have a choice in electing township trustees in November, but Mifflin Township has no candidates to challenge two incumbents.

Three candidates filed petitions for two open seats on the Jefferson Township board of trustees. They are Rich Courter, 1422 N. Reynoldsburg-New Albany Road, Blacklick; Mat Flanagan, 7019 Clark State Road, Blacklick; and Claire Yoder, 3200 Mann Road, Blacklick.

Flanagan's and Donna Finn's seats expire at the end of the year. Finn, who ran for her first term in 1997, decided not to seek re-election. Flanagan has been a trustee since 1986.

Yoder has served for 12 years as a member of the Gahanna-Jefferson Board of Education, but she decided not to seek re-election there.

"I'm sad to leave board but excited about the township," she said.

Yoder serves on the Jefferson Township Zoning Commission, and she has been the school district's liaison with the township.

In Mifflin Township, the seats of incumbents Joseph Spanovich, 760 Taylor Road, Gahanna, and Lynn Stewart, 561 Laurel Ridge Drive, Gahanna, will expire at the end of the year.

Spanovich began serving as a Mifflin trustee in 1986, and he's the current chairman.

Stewart is the first elected female trustee in Mifflin township. She was appointed to fulfill the term of her late husband, Jack Stewart. She later was elected as trustee in 2009.

Both incumbents are seeking re-election with no challengers.