Gahanna City Council members elected Brian Larick and Tom Kneeland as president and vice president, respectively, on Jan. 2.

Gahanna City Council members elected Brian Larick and Tom Kneeland as president and vice president, respectively, on Jan. 2.

Larick works in financial services/technology as an engineer for JPMorgan Chase.

He has touted transparency as a vital component of what he believes is important in how the city is managed.

Larick also led efforts for public finance forums in 2012 as part of a comprehensive overhaul of the information available to both the public and council and to gather direct input from the public on items of particular interest or concern to residents.

Kneeland was appointed to council in September 2013 to fill the unexpired term of David Samuel, who resigned in August. Kneeland's term will expire Dec. 31, 2015.

Kneeland had served on council for 17 years prior to resigning in 2011.

He stepped down from his at-large council seat to accept the city's position of information-technology director in early 2011. Nine months later, in September 2012, he became Whitehall's first IT director. He had worked as deputy of information technology for Whitehall from 2008 to 2011.

Council members who were sworn into office by city attorney Shane Ewald were those who were re-elected in November: Stephen Renner, Ward 1, and Larick, Ward 3. They're joined by new members Michael Schnetzer, Ward 2, and Jamie Leeseberg, Ward 4. Other council members are Karen Angelou, Ryan Jolley and Kneeland.

Other council assignments are as follows: Community Improvement Corporation, Kneeland; Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission, Angelou; Gahanna Convention & Visitors Bureau, Jolley; Office & Industrial Incentive advisory committee, Kneeland; Gahanna Parks & Recreation Foundation, Renner; and Tax Incentive Review Council, Leeseberg.

Council committee appointments are: committee of the whole, with Kneeland as chairman; finance committee (comprising all of council), with Schnetzer as chairman; development and parks, Renner, Schnetzer and Jolley, with Renner as chairman; and service and safety (comprising Kneeland, Angelou and Leeseberg), with Angelou as chairman.

Mayor Becky Stinchcomb made the following appointments: Civil Service Commission, Beryl Piccolantonio; landscape board, Melissa Hyde; parks and recreation board, Cynthia Franzmann; and Planning Commission, David Andrews.

Other appointments include the following to three-year terms: Hakim Ben Adjoua, Board of Zoning & Building Appeals; Mark Foster, Civil Service Commission; Mark DiGiando, landscape board; Andrew Piccolantonio, parks and recreation board; Donald Shepherd, Planning Commission; and Linda Dachenbach, Records Commission.

Tim Pack was appointed to fill an unexpired term ending Dec. 31, 2015, on the Board of Zoning & Building Appeals.

In other business, a public hearing was set for Feb. 3 to consider the rezoning of residential parcels on 3.55 acres along South Hamilton Road to neighborhood commercial.

The Gahanna Planning Commission voted unanimously Dec. 18 to approve the rezoning request by Ranger Development Group.

Jason Zadeh, Ranger president, said he and partner Greg Gallas have continued to work with residents on what's proposed as the Shops at Rocky Fork, 291-361 S. Hamilton Road.

Potential adoption regarding the legislation could be Feb. 18, council clerk Kim McWilliams said.

Regular Gahanna council meetings for 2014 will be held at 7 p.m. on the first and third Mondays of each month unless Monday falls on a holiday. Then it would be held the following Tuesday.

Council committee meetings will be held on the second and fourth Mondays of each month unless the Monday falls on a holiday. Then it would be held on the following Tuesday.