Rocky Fork Enterprise

Four Gahanna students earn Emmy Awards


Four Gahanna students were the only Ohioans who recently earned Emmy awards through the Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

Students from Gahanna Lincoln High School's television production program won a 2014 Student Production Award and several honorable mentions in the Ohio Valley 50th regional Emmy Awards.

The student production winner for arts and entertainment/cultural affairs was senior Kari Brown, for her piece, Students Who Dance.

Production award honorable mentions went to 2014 seniors Joshua Gregory and Bethany Bella for a WGLH-TV newscast. Also receiving honorable mention were senior Matthew Gregory for Honor Flight in the long-form/nonfiction category and Bella for her Eagle Scout Project segment in the public-affairs/community-service category.

"The work of our region's students continues to impress the professionals who judge their submissions," said Gary Anaple, student awards chairman for the Ohio Valley chapter.

The students were honored Aug. 2 at the Emmy ceremony in downtown Columbus alongside collegiate and professional winners.

"It's a big deal," said Tom Gregory, WGLH-TV's production adviser."

They were the only Ohio students honored from a (four-state) area."

The Ohio Valley chapter serves 13 markets throughout a four-state region: Ohio, Kentucky, Indiana and West Virginia.

"It's great for the program," Gregory said. "The whole goal is to provide opportunities for students and provide experiences in school connected with anchors and college students. It was great for the kids."

The Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences was established in 1962.

It is dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry.

In addition to the chapter presenting the Emmy Award to television professionals, it makes scholarships available to students at colleges and universities throughout the region.

The Ohio Valley is one of 19 regional chapters of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, which is headquartered in New York City.

Its stated mission is to encourage excellence in the television community by presenting the regional Emmy and other awards, by providing and developing leadership, by building community in television through camaraderie and by providing networking opportunities, education and resources.