After completing just three games last Saturday, rain forced the cancellation of the rest of the scheduled contests in the first day of the 27th Grove City Alumni Softball Tournament.

During the rain, tournament coordinator and director Steve Carr made the decision to push the semifinals and finals for the women's division, the men's A division and the men's B division to Saturday.

All games will be at Fryer Park and the first games in each division will start at 10 a.m. In the women's division, 2001-Spiker will play 1996 in the losers bracket, followed by 1987-88 against 1985-86 in the winners bracket at 11 a.m. The losers final is scheduled for 12:15 p.m. with the championship at 1:30 p.m. A second championship game, if necessary, will be at 2:45 p.m.

The men's A and B divisions will follow the same schedule as the women's division. In A division, 2003 will play 1993 in the losers bracket followed by 2004 and 2002 in the winners bracket.

In B play, 2003-Forrester will play 1999-Sigman in the losers bracket and 1990-Ruth will play 1993-Seagraves in the winners bracket.

Three divisions determined champions.

In the ladies classic the 1980 and 1983 team beat 1981-82 with Cindy Geyer as the MVP.

In the men's legends, the 1986 team beat the 1980 team. Sean Stevens and Alan Strom were co-MVPs for the 1986 team.

In the men's masters, the 1976-77 team defeated 1971-72 for the title. Doug Shanyfelt was MVP.