Forty-two juniors and five seniors were inducted April 15 into the Grove City High School chapter of the National Honor Society.

Forty-two juniors and five seniors were inducted April 15 into the Grove City High School chapter of the National Honor Society.

The students were selected for the honor by meeting the four pillars of NHS -- scholarship, leadership, service and character, said adviser Lori Fullen.

"It's not an easy honor to achieve," she said. "It's more than just recognizing students for getting good grades. They have to show their lights are lit from all four of the pillars."

Students must have earned at least a 3.75 weighted grade-point average to qualify for induction, Fullen said.

They also are required to have completed "a significant number" of community service hours and to have participated in at least two school activities or clubs, she said.

"A candidate meets the leadership pillar either by being elected to an office or by demonstrating leadership in the classroom," Fullen said.

The character pillar is met by not having violated the school's code of conduct and rules and through teachers' recognition of a student's high standards, she said.

In February, a list of those students who have met the grade-point average standard is posted and candidates can proceed with their application, which includes writing an essay, Fullen said.

A five-member committee of teachers reviews the applications and makes the final recommendations for NHS induction, she said.

Society projects include maintaining the GCHS courtyard during the school year and over summer vacation, Fullen said.

"There is only so much time our maintenance staff can spend on each property, and we want to do our part to help keep Grove City High School looking nice," she said.

Other NHS projects include volunteering several times a year at the Mid-Ohio Food Bank, coordinating the ice cream social for Teacher Appreciation Day and writing thank-you notes to GCHS teachers for their service, Fullen said.

Past projects have included raising funds for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation and assembling food boxes for needy families at Christmastime, she said.

This year's inductees included seniors Matthew Geroski, Alexis McCoy, Braeden Roach, Grace Robirds and Katie Swartzentruber.

Juniors who were inducted include: Trevor Allmon, Ricki Asher, Brooke Beaver, Mitchell Birt, Miranda Borden, Mallory Boswell, Sarah Carey, Emily Carter, Bailey Clanin, Calvin Clark, Michael Cowan, Tyler Crossen, Orion Davis, Emily Dawson, Kelly Day, Kari De Vore, Carmen D'Ippolito, Kayla Ekers, Brittany Geyer, Hawin Gosu and Rachel Hakes.

Other junior honorees were: Hannah Hawkins, Harlie Jackson, Caitlin Kilmurry, Amber Kocks, Lexi Ledbetter, Margaret Leist, Emily Lipp, Cayla Maddy, Joshua Matthews, Alexander Meister, Dalton Morrison, Kim Peters, Allanah Reisling, David Saunders, Jennifer Seibert, Hannah Stewart, Tyler Straight, Layne Sullivan, Kristen Taylor, Elizabeth Tolar and David Tucker.