Hilliard Northwest News

Darby's McClure a finalist for Whitehall superintendent

The Whitehall Board of Education on Jan. 24 narrowed its list of superintendent candidates to seven.

Ryan McClure, principal at Hilliard Darby High School, is one of the finalists.

The others are: George J. Joseph, executive director of administrative services for Worthington City Schools; Tara D. Meyerink, superintendent of Buckeye Central Local Schools (New Washington); Tyrone L. Olverson, director of K-12 curriculum and instruction for Licking Heights Local Schools; Michael Scott Reeves, executive director of secondary academic affairs and extracurricular programs for Westerville City Schools; Richard D. Smith Jr., superintendent of the North Union Local School District; and Michael B. Staggs, superintendent of the New Boston Local School District.

Whitehall board President Walter Armes said the board plans to interview the seven candidates Feb. 6 and 7, with the hopes of making a final selection by March 15.

-- Deborah M. Dunlap