The Hilliard Division of Police honored several officers at an awards banquet Feb. 22.

The Hilliard Division of Police honored several officers at an awards banquet Feb. 22.

Officer Ron Burkitt received the 2013 Community Service Award and Sgt. David Cunningham received the 2013 Mayor's Award.

Mayor Don Schonhardt cited Cunningham's efforts managing the consolidation of the police division's radio room and establishing the special-investigation unit.

Burkitt was recognized for a range of community service, including his commitment to training bicycle officers and counseling teenagers as a school resource officer.

Officers Jon Gleason and Bill Okey received a Distinguished Service Award for a June 19, 2013, incident in which they disarmed a man with a gun at an Interlachen Drive residence. The officers were called for a disturbance and encountered a partially dressed and injured man under the influence of drugs, who then picked up a gun inside the residence.

Several officers received achievement citations for a Feb. 13, 2013, incident in which Hilliard police assisted the Ohio State Highway Patrol in the high-speed pursuit and on-foot apprehension of a felon; an April 8 apprehension of a burglar a witness saw enter an Earman Drive residence; the July 15 apprehension of four people involved in a robbery at Scioto Darby and Walcutt roads; and after a lengthy investigation, the arrest of a Leap Road resident for drug trafficking who was later connected to robberies in Reynoldsburg.

Officer Kyle Bright was named Field Operations Employee of the Year, technician Christine Reed was named Communications Employee of the Year and Cunningham was named Bureau of Investigations Employee of the Year.

Officers Tom Earhart, Ryan Turner and Chad Wood were recognized for 10 years of service; officers Mike Deaton and Charles Lupi and clerk Kelli O'Connor for 15 years of service; officer Mike Metz for 20 years of service; and officer Hyda Slone and Sgt. John Higgins for 25 years of service.