Hilliard Northwest News

Alumni association to name top teacher April 16


The Hilliard High School Alumni Association is expected name its Educator of the Year next week.

A recognition ceremony is slated from 4 to 6 p.m. Wednesday, April 16, at the annex building of the McVey Innovative Learning Center, 5323 Cemetery Road.

The association, which represents alumni from all three of the district's high schools, will name the Educator of the Year from among 10 Educators of Excellence, said Tom Calhoon, a member of the alumni association's board of directors and a 1966 graduate of Hilliard High School.

The alumni association's board of directors solicits nominations from each district school building. Students, teachers, administrators and the community members may nominate any teacher.

If more than one nomination is received from a building, the association's screening committee chooses a single nominee, Calhoon said.

This year, 10 teachers were named Educators of Excellence, fewer than normal as no nominations were received from some schools, Calhoon said.

They are:

* Linda Trudeau, a teacher at the Hilliard preschool

* Susan Curtis, a K-2 reading teacher at Alton Darby Elementary School

* Claudia Jones, a music teacher at Britton Elementary School

* Carol Capretta, a 4-5 loop teacher at Darby Creek Elementary School

* Chris Clifton, a fifth-grade teacher at Hoffman Trails Elementary School

* Jim Smalley, a K-1 teacher at Norwich Elementary School

* Ron Marshall, a fourth-grade teacher at Ridgewood Elementary School

* Angela Davoll, a music and band instructor at Memorial Middle School

* Cathleen Emmons, an eighth-grade language-arts teacher at Weaver Middle School

* Pam Worth, an English teacher at Bradley High School.

"We're excited to honor these great teachers," Calhoon said.