Hilliard Northwest News

Swimming & Diving

Darby's Cook delivers at all-Hilliard event


The Hilliard Bradley, Darby and Davidson high school boys and girls swimming and diving teams participated in their final meet before the start of the postseason.

The teams competed against each other in a non-scoring, all-Hilliard meet held Feb. 1 at Hilliard YMCA.

In the boys meet, Hunter Cook helped Darby win eight of the 12 events, finishing first in the 50-yard breaststroke (29.34 seconds), 100 breast (1:02.63) and 200 freestyle (1:49.28).

Also for the Panthers, Blake Dickmann won the 50 butterfly (55.63) and 100 backstroke (55.63), Tyler Long won the 100 fly (58.04), Cory McLaughlin, Cook, Dickmann and Ross McDonald finished first in the 200 medley relay (1:42.6) and Cook, McDonald, McLaughlin and Long won the 200 free relay (1:36.21).

Bradley and Davidson both won two events. Jon Satre won both the 50 free (22.81) and 100 free (48.79) for the Jaguars and Alex Waldron finished first in the 50 back (25.65) and Keith Serafy won the 200 individual medley (2:06.57) for the Wildcats.

Darby duo among standouts for girls

Darby's Mackenzie Caruthers and Olivia Wile and Bradley's Brynn Driscoll each won two individual events in the all-Hilliard meet.

Caruthers finished first in the 50 free (26.35) and 100 breast (1:17.08), Wile won the 50 fly (27.95) and 50 back (31.3) and Driscoll won the 100 free (58.08) and 50 breast (32.91).

Also finishing first for the Panthers were Tia McLaughlin in the 200 free (2:14.37), the 200 medley relay of McLaughlin, Destiny Camp, Wile and Caruthers (1:56.76) and the 200 free relay of Caruthers, McLaughlin, Maddie McDonald and Wile (1:48.29).

The other winners were Bradley's Delaney Banda in the 100 back (1:07) and Davidson's Emily Byrd in the 200 IM (2:30.18) and Jessie Lewis in the 100 fly (1:01.68).

Teams getting ready for sectional meet

All three boys teams and all three girls teams will compete in the Division I sectional meet Saturday, Feb. 8, at Union County YMCA in Marysville.

The winner of each swimming event automatically qualifies for the district meet Feb. 15 at Ohio State. In addition, 27 at-large berths for each swimming event will be awarded based on times from the Central, East and Southeast sectional sites.

Divers do not compete until district.

Buy This Photo' rel="lightbox" class="hide"> Buy This Photo' rel="lightbox" class="hide"> Buy This Photo' rel="lightbox" class="hide">