Seats on Johnstown Village Council are among the local contested races in the Nov. 5 General Election.

Seats on Johnstown Village Council are among the local contested races in the Nov. 5 General Election.

Six candidates are running for four seats. No candidates filed to run for the remaining two years of an unexpired council term that ends Dec. 31, 2015, though.

Among those seeking a seat on council are incumbents Sean Staneart, who also is mayor, Carol Vandeest, Joyce Priest-Evans and Sharon Hendren.

The challengers are Bob Orsini and William Vangundy. Those seats are for four-year terms.

Some other elections have just enough candidates to run or not enough candidates to fill those posts. If any vacancies remain following the election, someone would have to be appointed in January to fill them.

Write-in candidates have until 4 p.m. Aug. 26 to file with the Licking County Board of Elections. The regular filing deadline for the election was Aug. 7, and the elections board is to expected to certify candidates' petitions this week, elections board director Sue Penick said.

"Small villages could be a trend (throughout the county)," she said, referring to the anemic number of candidates for available seats. "They seem to not have enough candidates and appoint people."

Only two races are on the countywide ballot: municipal court clerk and municipal court judge.

Incumbent Marcia J. Phelps, a Democrat, is being challenged by Olivia Thorp for court clerk. Thorp, a Republican, is a first-time candidate and is the wife of Sheriff Randy Thorp, Penick said. No party affiliations will be listed for the court candidates in the election, though.

In the other countywide election, longtime Judge Michael Higgins is unopposed for his municipal court seat.

In contested races, incumbent Gilbert Grandstaff is one of three people running for Hartford Township trustee. Two seats are up for election. The challengers are Jeffrey Boudinot and Timothy Zarley.

Monroe Township also has a contested race for trustee. Two seats are up for election, with incumbents Troy Hendren and Joey Robertson facing challengers George Holbrook, John Sadinsky and Russell Sparks.

Hartford Village Council, also known as Croton, and Alexandria Village Council have four seats each up for election.

Incumbents Winston Sayers and Jim Zarzeczny are running for Hartford council, along with residents Leanne Bishop and Bryant Callan.

In Alexandria, only Karen Holt and Micheal Miller are running for council. Adam Mooney is the only candidate for mayor.