Johnstown Independent

Election Day

Johnstown-area residents to see handful of issues, races


Johnstown-area residents have a handful of issues and races to decide Nov. 5, depending on where they live.

Johnstown village residents will see six candidates vying for four Village Council seats whose terms begin Jan. 1, but one candidate was appointed last month to complete Kevin Riffe's term, which expires Dec. 31, 2015.

The candidates listed on the ballot are Joyce Priest-Evans, Sharon Hendren, Bob Orsini, Sean Staneart, Carol Vandeest and William Vangundy. Orsini is expected to be sworn in Nov. 5, replacing Riffe, who resigned because he and his family were moving to nearby Liberty Township.

Orsini still could be elected to an open seat, though, said Sue Penick, Licking County Board of Elections director.

If voters choose Orsini, he would have a decision to make: Either continue in the seat to which he was appointed and vacate the seat to which he was elected, or vacate the seat to which council has appointed him and accept the seat to which voters have elected him.

Either way, a vacated seat would have to be filled by council appointment.

Meanwhile, another council seat remains open with no candidates, and none of the candidates vying for the other seats may be elected to it.

Council member Thomas Fagan, who was appointed to the seat in June to replace a resigning Christopher Speck, isn't running in the election for the term that expires Dec. 31, 2015. No candidates petitioned for that seat, which also will have to be filled by council appointment.

The Johnstown-Monroe Board of Education has no competition. Two candidates are vying for two open seats whose terms begin Jan. 1, 2014. Ruth Ann Booher and Tim Swauger are running unopposed. Alan Benton is the only candidate running for the unexpired term that ends Dec. 31, 2015.



Alexandria voters face a 4-mill replacement levy for current expenses. If approved, the measure would cost a total of $140 a year per $100,000 of assessed property value.

The village of Hartford has a referendum on the ballot to approve a 1-percent income tax for municipal services.

Village Council had approved an income tax in June, but several residents in opposition were successful in submitting a petition to place the issue on the ballot.

If approved, taxes will be withheld starting Jan. 1, 2014, with the first income-tax returns due April 15, 2015.

Hartford Township is seeking a 3-mill replacement levy for roads and bridges. If approved, the levy will cost a total of $105 annually for every $100,000 of assessed property value.



A few races will appear on the ballot, though some of them aren't contested.

Democrat incumbent Marcia Phelps of Newark hopes to stave off Republican challenger Olivia Thorp for municipal court clerk.

Michael Higgins is the only candidate listed for municipal court judge.

In Alexandria, Adam Mooney is uncontested for mayor. Likewise, council candidates Karen Holt and Michael Miller are the only two running for four available seats.

Hartford village residents will choose four candidates for Village Council, and only four are running: Leanne Bishop, Bryant Callan, Winston Sayers and Jim Zarzeczny.

In Hartford Township, three candidates are seeking two open seats on the board of trustees: Jeffrey Boudinot, Gilbert Grandstaff and Timothy Zarley.

Monroe Township's board of trustees has five candidates seeking two seats. Incumbents Troy Hendren and Joey Robertson face challengers George Holbrook, John Sadinsky and Russell Sparks.

Four candidates are seeking three open seats on the Northridge Board of Education, but only two appear on the ballot. Voters will see the names of Doug Hart and Jeffrey Schrock, who face write-in candidates Bryan Applequist and Richard Burkholder.

Christopher Pokorny is the only candidate running for the unexpired term that ends Dec. 31, 2015.

The only other countywide race is for Licking County Educational Service Center board.

One race has four candidates seeking three open seats, though one of the candidates is a write-in. Voters will see the names of Freddie Latella, William Mann and Forest Yocum. The write-in candidate is David Berger.

The other Licking County ESC seat is an unexpired term that ends Dec. 15, 2015. Laurie Montgomery is the only candidate running for that seat.