Licking County News

Pataskala City Council

Residents start recall process for Sagar


Two residents have submitted a letter of intent to recall Pat Sagar from serving on Pataskala City Council.

Council Clerk Kathy Hoskinson confirmed May 19 that she received the letter of intent submitted May 16 by Carl and Deanna Roshong of Mill Street.

No reason for seeking Sagar's recall was given in the letter and Carl Roshong declined to comment on the letter.

According to section 10.02 of the city charter, residents may request removal of any City Council member by submitting a letter of intent to the council clerk and then circulating petitions. The petitions must contain valid signatures from 15 percent of the electors who voted in the First Ward, which Sagar represents, in the most recent regular municipal election.

Gloria Carson, director of the Licking County Board of Elections, said 711 First Ward residents voted in Pataskala's last municipal election in November 2013. That means the recall petitions must have 107 valid signatures.

Carson said the board of elections is available to help certify the petitions.

If a recall petition is certified, Hoskinson must deliver it to Sagar.

If Sagar does not resign within five days of receiving the certified petition, City Council has to schedule a recall election "not less than 40 days nor more than 60 days after the date of the clerk's certification," according to the city charter.

Sagar could not be reached for comment.

She is vice president of Pataskala City Council and is in her third term representing the First Ward after being appointed to City Council in 1999. Her current term expires Dec. 31, 2015.

Mayor Mike Compton said he wants to meet with the parties involved to see if there is another solution.

Compton declined further comment.

City Council President Dan Hayes said he could not imagine that voters would want to remove Sagar, especially if no reason is given.

The last recall election in Pataskala was June 28, 2005, when former City Council member Bernard Brush retained his seat in a 414-219 vote, according to The Columbus Dispatch.