Marysville High School senior wrestler Noah Forrider not only became the program's fourth state champion, but he also rewrote its record book.

Marysville High School senior wrestler Noah Forrider not only became the program's fourth state champion, but he also rewrote its record book.

Forrider capped his chase of a state title by defeating Madison's Nick Montgomery 5-4 in the Division I final at 138 pounds March 2 at Ohio State.

Forrider, who finished the season 49-0, became the Monarchs' career leader in wins, surpassing the 163 of 2010 graduate Jake McCombs. He finished 169-24.

For his efforts, Forrider has been named captain of the ThisWeek Super 12 team after being selected to the team each of the past three seasons.

A four-time state placer, Forrider was fourth at 138 as a junior, sixth at 130 as a sophomore and eighth at 119 as a freshman.

"I'm just so proud of the kid," coach Shawn Andrews said. "As good of a wrestler as he is, he's a better person. He worked really hard to get (his state title). He finished eighth, sixth and fourth (in his first three years at state), and finishing with that odd number that we talk about all along is so important to him. We're going to miss him a ton and right now we're just really proud of him."

Forrider opened state by defeating Wadsworth's Mathias Zollinger 14-5. He then defeated Massillon Perry's Casey Sparkman 4-2 in a quarterfinal and Lakewood St. Edward's Colin Heffernan 3-1 in sudden-victory overtime in a semifinal to earn a spot in his first state final.

"There's no secrets: Just working hard every day, applying yourself every day in practice and going out there and getting it done and believing in yourself," said Forrider, who will wrestle at Ohio University.

He helped the Monarchs place fifth (58.5) at state behind champion St. Edward (117) as 89 teams scored.

Forrider, who also won sectional and district titles, was named Wrestler of the Year in the OCC-Central Division, as Marysville won the league title at 7-0.

"Since I've been at Marysville, I've wanted to be the best," Forrider said. "I'm up there. I don't know if I'm the best yet."

•OTHER FIRST-TEAM SELECTIONS-- Marysville's Chase Boyd (sr., 160), Whitehall's Alex Farrow (sr., hwt.), Ready's Patrik Garren (jr., hwt.), Hilliard Davidson's Travis Gusan (sr., hwt.), Gahanna's Kasee McDougle (sr., 132), Olentangy Liberty's Jake Ryan (sr., 145), Hilliard Davidson's Bobby Smith (jr., 126), Olentangy Orange's Artem Timchenko (sr., 120), Hilliard Darby's Matthew Walker (sr., 170), Northridge's Thomas Williams (sr., 145) and Central Crossing's Joshua Wimer (jr., 120).

•HONORABLE MENTION-- Whitehall's Ana Abduljelil (fr., 113), Delaware's Greg Brusco (fr., 113); Westerville North's Santino DiSabato (jr., 113), DeSales' Ian Ferguson (sr., 160); Olentangy Liberty's Jonathan Furnas (so., 106), Olentangy's Nate Hall (so., 182), Groveport's Shakur Laney (so., 106), Marysville's Morgan Miller (sr., 220), Olentangy Liberty's Guiseppe Penzone (jr., 120), Marysville's Austin Pfarr (jr., 195), Mifflin's Jalen Robinson (sr., 220), St. Charles' Tim Rooney (so., 126), Marysville's David Sparks (jr., 126), Dublin Coffman's Markell Wooden (sr., 160) and Pickerington Central's Aaron Yarger (jr,. 152).

•PAST CAPTAINS-- Olentangy Liberty's Roy Daniels (2012), Hilliard Davidson's Chase Delande (2011), Westerville North's Josh Demas (2009, 10), Westerville North's Jesse Dong (2008), Westerville Central's Brendan Barlow (2007), Westerville South's Anthony Ciraky (2006), Hamilton Township's Nick Hackett (2005), New Albany's Larry Reichard (2004), Westland's T.J. Enright (2003), Hamilton Township's Jason Hackett (2002), DeSales' C.P. Schlatter (2000, 01), Ready's Tommy Rowlands (2000) and Pickerington's Keaton Anderson (1999).