New Albany News

Nov. 5 election

School board, township races top ballot


New Albany voters will decide three contested races on the Nov. 5 ballot.

The largest field of candidates will be in the six-way race for the three seats on the New Albany-Plain Local school board.

Incumbents Laura Kohler and Natalie Matt are running for second terms on the school board. The other board member whose term expires this year, Cheri Lehmann, declined to run again.

Kohler and Matt will be challenged by Chris Lopez, John McClelland, Todd Wielinski and Joanne Williams.


Two township races

The other two contested local races are for Plain Township offices.

Two former trustees are running for the unexpired fiscal officer term, which expires in March 2016.

Bud Zappitelli was a trustee from 2006 to April 2012. He resigned as trustee and was appointed to the position after the elected fiscal officer, John Brandt, declined to take office.

He is running to retain the fiscal officer’s seat against Don Shoemaker, who was a Plain Township trustee from 1994 to 2010.

Current township trustees Dave Ferguson and Tom Rybski also are up for election.

They will be challenged by Brad Hennebert.


Council incumbents run unopposed

Four New Albany City Council seats also are up for election, but all four incumbents are running unopposed Nov. 5.

They are Colleen Briscoe, Chip Fellows, Glyde Marsh and Sloan Spalding.