Olentangy Valley News


Patriots advance nine to district


The Olentangy Liberty High School wrestling team scored 197.5 points and finished second in an 11-squad Division I sectional Feb. 15 behind host Marysville (218.5).

Nine Patriots advanced to district Friday, Feb. 21, and Saturday, Feb. 22, at Hilliard Darby by placing in the top four of their weight class.

Jonathan Furnas (120 pounds) and Trey Grenier (132) each went 4-0 to win sectional titles. In their finals, Furnas defeated Marysville's Derek Sharp 10-5 and Grenier pinned Darby's Quentin Thatcher in 5 minutes, 42 seconds.

Placing second were Brakan Mead (3-1 at 106), Giuseppe Penzone (3-1 at 126), Matt Snyder (3-1 at 145), Nick Thrasher (2-1 at 152) and Jake Hale (2-1 at 195), while Keith Clark (2-2 at 160) and Kyle Arcaro (2-2 at 182) finished fourth.

Andrew Crooks (2-2 at 220) and Kris Volpe (2-2 at 113) placed fifth and are district alternates.

At district, the top four placers in each weight class advance to the state tournament Feb. 27-March 1 at Ohio State.

Last year at district, Furnas placed second at 106 and Penzone placed third at 120 to qualify for state.

Olentangy qualifies six for district

Six Olentangy wrestlers qualified for district as the Braves placed fifth (133.5) in the Marysville sectional.

Nate Hall went 3-0 to win a sectional title at 182, beating Darby's Trevor Parker 17-6 in the final.

Finishing second were Cody Pollitt (3-1 at 160) and Chris Crumb (2-1 at heavyweight). Placing third were Max Hall (3-1 at 138), Connor Slade (2-1 at 195) and Chase Carter (3-1 at 220). Kyler Slade (2-2 at 145) placed fifth and is a district alternate.

Last year at district, Nate Hall placed first at 182 and was Olentangy's lone state qualifier.

Orange sends six to district

Orange advanced six wrestlers to district while placing fourth (168) in the 11-team Division I sectional Feb. 15 at Upper Arlington behind champion Westerville North (237).

Lenn's Kamba went 3-0 to win a sectional title at 195. He pinned Hilliard Davidson's Amir Mansour in the final in 3:38.

Michael Hines went 3-1 and placed second at 126. Placing fourth were Michael McQuee-ney (2-1 at 113), Hayden Knapp (2-2 at 152), Connor Ryan (2-2 at 160) and Nick Lee (2-2 at 220).

Chris Wallace (2-2 at 132), Alec Farmer (3-2 at 138), Logan Broskie (2-2 at 145) and Albert Van Fossen (2-2 at heavyweight) placed fifth and are district alternates.

At district last year, Kamba (fourth at 195) qualified for state for the first time.