1933: Once a year, just before Christmas, some Pickerington men traveled to Michigan and Canada for a hunting expedition.
This 1933 group included (from left) A.J.Good, Roy Huntwork, John Huntwork, Dr. W. B. Taylor, Dr. Louis Saylor and Fred Sensabaugh.
The wild game they brought home was presented to England's Restaurant to prepare sandwiches for a holiday feast for village residents.
The sandwiches were handed out the windows of the lower level of the Carnegie Library.
This particular year, the men also brought back one very large moose head and had it mounted.
To the disappointment of the men, none of their wives would allow it to be displayed in their homes.
Eventually the moose became known as "Bullwinkle."
We assume he was named after Bullwinkle J. Moose, one of the fictional stars of the popular animated 1959-1964 television series, The Rocky and Bullwinkle Show.
Do you know where Pickerington's Bullwinkle has made his home for these past 70-some years?
NOW: Bullwinkle was donated to the Carnegie Library in 1933, and he still greets visitors who enter that building at 15 E. Columbus St. in Olde Pickerington Village.
Since 1993 the former Carnegie Library has housed the Pickerington-Violet Township Historical Society Museum and Bullwinkle.
Visit Bullwinkle during Olde Pickerington Village Holiday on Friday, Dec. 7 between 5 and 8:30 p.m.
The Historical Museum will offer free admission and a Christmas story time for children during the event.
The Museum also is open on Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. through Dec. 15. It is closed during the winter months.
In addition to Bullwinkle, families can find unique gifts, souvenirs and Historical Society membership information in the Museum Gift Shop.
Identical information can be found online at www.pickeringtonhistoricalsociety.com.
Contributions and questions about Then and Now stories can be sent via email to the series' creator, Maggie Arendt, at email@example.com.