1908: William Caldwell (far left) stands in front of 16-18 E. Columbus St. in this 1908 photo.Caldwell acquired this property a year later and opened Caldwell's Grocery.
The man with the suit and tie on the left is Dr. W. B. Taylor.
His young son, Kenneth W. Taylor, stands in the doorway. The sign above Doc Taylor's head advertises "Moxie," a popular soft drink at that time.
Doc Taylor's buggy is at the far right in front of Billy Moore's Meat Market, which was located in the downstairs of the IOOF (Independent Order of Odd Fellows) building.
Both buildings were constructed in 1880.
In 1928, Harry Ruse purchased the grocery store from his brother-in-law, William Caldwell, and opened the Red & White store.
Ruse died of a massive heart attack at the store early one morning in 1943.
In 1956 this building became Walter Moore's Pool Hall, a popular hangout in Pickerington until Moore retired in 1983.
NOW: A women's accessories boutique, Deblin Design, currently is located in the former Caldwell and Ruse grocery stores and Moore's Pool Hall at 18 E. Columbus St.
The vacant lot seen at the right of the remodeled store is where the IOOF building once stood.
It was razed circa 1947.
Enjoy a walking tour of these and other Olde Pickerington Village historic sites which have been transformed into retail shops, restaurants and other businesses on state Route 256 between Hill Road and East Street.
To discover more photos and information about our community's past, visit the Pickerington-Violet Township Historical Society's website at www.pickeringtonhistoricalsociety.com.
Contributions and questions about "Then and Now" stories can be sent via email to the series' creator, Maggie Arendt, at email@example.com.