THEN: Postal service came to Pickerington with the establishment of a post office March 3, 1831.
The first postmaster was James O. Kane who served until 1837.
During this time mail arrived in Pickerington by horseback.
After the T&C Railroad came to town in 1880, mail arrived by train at the Pickerington Depot on North Center Street.
A post office messenger took outgoing mail to the train station to be picked up by the next passing train.
He waited with his wheelbarrow for the incoming mail and took it back to whatever business served as the post office.
Although there was no house-to-house mail delivery in the village, rural mail service was handled by Earl Knepper (1882-1963) for many years.
In this 1920's photograph Knepper (left) can be seen with substitute rural carrier, Ben Cochenour, in front of Shoemaker Hardware Store.
The post office was located there from 1922 to 1934 when C. Frank Shoemaker served as postmaster.
Mason's Meat Market, located at 21 W. Columbus St., served as Pickerington's post office from 1934 until 1967. That year, Pickerington's first newly constructed post office opened at 51 E. Columbus St.
NOW: The wheelbarrow that was used to cart mail to and from the Pickerington train depot has been preserved at the Pickerington-Violet Township Historical Society Museum, 15 E. Columbus St. in Olde Pickerington Village.
This wheelbarrow also carried incoming shipments of cash and coin for the Pickerington Bank. To discover more artifacts, photos and stories about our community's past, visit the Pickerington-Violet Township Historical Society Museum's Open House on Saturday, April 6 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.
The Open House marks the opening of the Museum for its 2013 season and the launch of a new 128-page pictorial history book, Images of America: Pickerington.
Find more details at pickeringtonhistoricalsociety.com or by calling 614-382-5989.
Contributions and questions about Then and Now stories can be sent via email to the series' creator, Maggie Arendt, at email@example.com.