Pickerington Times-Sun

Then and Now: The Fenstermaker family

THEN: Ida Fenstermaker can be seen on the front porch of her home located at 63 W. Church St. in this circa 1907 photo.

Born Aug. 31, 1864, Ida was the oldest daughter of Phil and Sarah Fenstermaker's seven children.

She cared for her parents and youngest brother, Charley, in this large home and never married.

By 1907, all three of these family members had passed, so Ida took in boarders.

Her older brother, William E. Fenstermaker, acquired the Pickerington Tile Mill in 1892 which he and his son, Frank, continued to operate until the business closed its operations in 1931.

Ida passed away in 1938.

NOW: After her death July 15, 1938, Ida was reunited with her parents and brother, Charley, in Pickerington's Violet Cemetery, located adjacent to the historic Dovel Cemetery on East Columbus Street in Olde Pickerington Village.

Both cemeteries are a short walk from the Pickerington-Violet Township Historical Society Museum (15 East Columbus St.) where volunteers host an Open House each Saturday from 10 a.m. a.m. to 3 p.m. Admission to the museum is free.

Visitors can research family history via the museum'ss collection of photos, stories, documents, and books -- including an alphabetical index of people buried in Violet Township cemeteries.

For area residents fascinated with cemeteries, "Secrets of the Cemetery" will be presented by Pickerington cemetery authority, Nancy Ottman, at 7:30 p.m. tonight, Thursday, May 2, in the museum's lower level.

Ottman's program will focus on 18th and 19th century tombstone symbols and their meanings.

Historical Society Open Houses and monthly meeting details can be found at www.pickeringtonhistoricalsociety.com or by calling 614-382-5989.

Contributions and questions about Then and Now stories can be sent via email to the series' creator, Maggie Arendt, at pickhistsociety@hotmail.com.

Comments

Request to buy this photo' rel="lightbox" class="hide">