Reynoldsburg News

School board races draw the most candidates


Reynoldsburg voters will see a lengthy list of candidates on the Nov. 3 ballot for school board, city council and township trustee seats, if the Franklin County Board of Elections certifies all petitions turned in by the Aug. 20 deadline.

In addition to a 9.9-mill operating levy for Reynoldsburg schools, 10 candidates are seeking election to fill three seats on the board of education. Five people filed petitions seeking election to three at-large city council seats and three are hoping to be elected to two seats on the Truro Township board of trustees.

Board of education include three incumbents, Cheryl Max, James A. Slonaker Jr. and Andrew Swope. Challengers hoping to make the ballot are G. Daryl Albrecht, Kristin J. Bryant, Ryan Brzezinski, David Hedrick, Anna Lulianelli, Leanora A. Jenkins and Elaine M. Tornero.

The five candidates seeking three seats on Reynoldsburg City Council are Republicans Barth Cotner, Nathan Burd and Christopher Long and Democrats Cornelius McGrady III and Donna Shirey. Cotner and Shirey are incumbents.

Ron Stake, also an incumbent, was among four Republican candidates seeking three spots in the May primary but received the lowest number of votes, putting him out of contention for the fall race.

McGrady and Shirey automatically advanced to the November general election because they were the only two candidates to file for three Democratic spots on the primary ballot.

City Auditor Richard E. Harris ran unopposed in the May primary in his bid for re-election. Unless there is a write-in candidate, Harris will be the sole choice on the ballot in November.

In Truro Township, voters will elect two township trustees from among three candidates. Incumbents Dennis Nicodemus and Barbara Strussion are seeking re-election. Bill Smith also filed petitions to run for a trustee's seat.

Strussion is serving her third term while Nicodemus, who was appointed in 2002, is serving out his first full term.