Reynoldsburg News

Reynoldsburg City Council

McGrady seeks seat on West Licking fire board


Reynoldsburg City Council's finance committee agreed Monday, Oct. 1, to appoint Ward 3 Councilman Cornelius McGrady to the West Licking Joint Fire District Board, filling the position council President Doug Joseph left more than three months ago.

Joseph resigned from the fire district board in June, soon after it was criticized for allegedly voting behind closed doors to place Fire Chief David Fulmer on paid administrative leave.

The fire board scheduled a hearing to consider alleged misconduct in office and unwise use of funds by Fulmer on Oct. 3, after ThisWeek's press deadline.

Joseph said in June he had been "edged out of discussions" about Fulmer.

Assistant Chief Ken Mathews -- now acting chief of the department -- wrote a letter to Reynoldsburg Clerk of Council Nancy Frazier on Aug. 24, asking that council consider assigning a Reynoldsburg area representative to the West Licking Joint Fire District Board.

McGrady said he asked to be appointed to the board in order to provide representation for the city.

"It is my ward area and an entity that Reynoldsburg has a chair on," he said. "We need to be represented in the ongoing business of the district."

Fulmer has filed a lawsuit against the fire district, claiming it violated Ohio open meetings laws and withheld public records from him.

At-Large Reynoldsburg Councilman Chris Long said at Monday's meeting that Reynoldsburg should be represented on the fire district board.

"I feel we should have someone as our eyes and ears on the fire board," he said.

Long said the full council will vote on a resolution to appoint McGrady to the fire board at its Oct. 8 meeting, which will start at 7:30 p.m. at Reynoldsburg City Hall, 7232 E. Main St.

The West Licking Joint Fire District hired Fulmer as chief in 2009. He was formerly chief of the Miami Township Fire Department.

The other fire board members are: Randy Foor, Etna Township; Mark Van Buren, Harrison Township; Derek Myers, Jersey Township; Brian Denton, Kirkersville; and Mike Fox, Pataskala.

The West Licking Joint Fire District is composed of two former fire departments, Pataskala and Kirkersville, according to information on its website,