Reynoldsburg News

Swope, Tornero elected to top posts on school board


A new year for the Reynoldsburg Board of Education meant swearing in a new school board member and choosing a president and vice president at the Jan. 2 organizational meeting.

Board members voted to retain Andrew Swope as president this year and Elaine Tornero as vice president.

Joe Begeny, who was elected Nov. 5 to his first term on the school board, was sworn in by district Treasurer Tammira Miller.

He was the top vote-getter in a field that included incumbents Swope, Tornero and Ryan Brzezinski.

Swope and Tornero were re-elected, with Swope edging out Brzezinski by 14 votes after a recount in early December by the Franklin County Board of Elections.

School board members who attended the Jan. 2 meeting were Begeny, Swope, Tornero, Loretta King and Sandy Long.

Begeny said the biggest challenge the board will face this year will be to replace Superintendent Steve Dackin, who retires July 31.

"Filling Steve Dackin's shoes will not be an easy task, as the district has moved in a positive direction under his leadership," Begeny said. "I cannot speak for the rest of the board, but I know I will be looking for a number of things from our new superintendent, including a commitment to efficient use of the taxpayer dollars."

At the organizational meeting, members also approved meeting dates and times for 2014; school board meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the third Tuesday of each month in Reynoldsburg City Council chambers at the municipal building, 7232 E. Main St.

The first regular meeting this month, however, at 7 p.m. Jan. 21, will be held at Herbert Mills Elementary School, 6826 Retton Road, and the meeting at 7 p.m. Feb. 18 will be held at French Run Elementary School, 1200 Epworth Road.

Miller said committee assignments will be made at the Jan. 21 meeting.