Ohio North-South Classic rosters announced


The Ohio North-South Classic announced rosters Feb. 7 for its football games that will be held April 27 at Welcome Stadium in Dayton.

The 68th-annual classic will feature a two-game format for the first time, with one game for players in Divisions I, II and III at 4 p.m. and a second for players in Divisions IV, V and VI to be held after conclusion of the first game.

Tickets cost $10 and include admission to both games.

Players from central Ohio expected to compete for the South all-stars in the Divisions I-III game include Emmanuel Beal (Reynoldsburg), Caleb Day (Hilliard Darby), Godwin Igwebuike (Pickerington North), E.J. Jennings (Hilliard Davidson), Darron Lee (New Albany), Miles McCollum (Dublin Coffman), Mitchell Rowell (Gahanna Lincoln) and Granyl Smith (Gahanna Lincoln). Alex Klingel and Nick McCleese from Caledonia River Valley will play for the North all-stars.

“I watch a lot of film, and these kids definitely deserve to be in this game,” said New Albany coach Mark Mueller, who will be an assistant for the South all-stars in the Divisions I-III game.

In the Divisions IV-VI game, central Ohio players for the South all-stars include Isaiah Blevins (North Union), Kevin Bourne (Newark Catholic), Marcellus Calhoun (Hartley), Luke Hannan (Liberty Union), Jacob Matuska (Hartley), Nick Sadinski (Johnstown), Donyelle Simpson (Heath) and Zach Yousey (Harvest Prep).