State Wrestling - Day One

Numerous area wrestlers still in contention after first day of state tournament

Enlarge Image Request to buy this photo
Canal Winchester's Max Lacey lost to Alex Woicehovich of Macedonia Nordonia 6-4 in the first round at 220 pounds.

Several area wrestlers remained in title contention following the first day of action at the state wrestling tournament Feb. 28 at Ohio State.

Leading the way was Marysville in Division I, as the Monarchs sent five wrestlers into the quarterfinal round Friday, March 1. Senior Noah Forrider, a three-time state placer, defeated Wadsworth’s Mathias Zollinger 14-5 in a preliminary round match at 138 pounds. Also advancing were Taleb Rahmani at 120, Chase Boyd at 160, Austin Pfarr at 195 and Morgan Miller at 220.

Rahmani, a fourth seed, defeated top-seeded Austin Daly of  Liberty Township Lakota East 2-1 in a tiebreaker in overtime. Rahmani was fourth at 106 last season at state.

Olentangy Liberty had three wrestlers advance, as Jonathon Furnas defeated Perrysburg’s Mario Guillen 9-4 at 106, Giuseppe Penzone defeated Fairfield’s Greysun Barden 10-6 at 120 and Jake Ryan defeated Brecksville-Broadview Heights’ Austin Strand 8-0 at 145.

Hilliard Davidson sent two wrestlers into the quarterfinals, as Bobby Smith pinned Cincinnati Moeller’s Connor Borton in 2 minutes, 51 seconds at 126 and Travis Gusan pinned Cincinnati Elder’s Kevin Johnson (:35) at heavyweight.

Pickerington Central also advanced two wrestlers as Aaron Yarger defeated Maple Heights’ Deshon Johnson 7-1 at 152 and Ason Sunkle defeated Wadsworth’s Tim Knipl 7-3 at 170.

Other area wrestlers advancing in Division I were Groveport’s Shakur Laney at 106, Delaware’s Greg Brusco at 113, Olentangy Orange’s Artem Timchenko at 120, St. Charles’ Tim Rooney at 126, Gahanna’s Drew McDougle at 138, Dublin Coffman’s Markell Wooden at 160, Hilliard Darby’s Matt Walker at 170, Olentangy’s Nate Hall at 182, Dublin Jerome’s Brett Mowery at 220 and Dublin Scioto’s Yoshi Akutsu at heavyweight.

Advancing in Division II were Whitehall’s Ana Abduljelil at 113 and Alex Farrow at heavyweight, DeSales’ Ian Ferguson at 160 and Mifflin’s Jalen Robinson at 220.

Advancing in Division III were Northridge’s Jake Adkins at 106 and Thomas Williams at 145, Hartley’s Grant Rathburn at 132,  Johnstown-Monroe’s Clayton Bullard at 195 and Ready’s Patrik Garren at heavyweight.