The OHSAA announced divisional breakdowns and regional alignments for the 2013 and 2014 football seasons.

In April of 2012, the OHSAA announced that it would be adding a seventh division for football beginning with the 2013 season.

Fourteen months later, divisional breakdowns and regional alignments for the 2013 and 2014 football seasons for the new format were announced.

There will be 72 teams in the new Division I, broken down into a Northern Region with 35 schools and a Southern Region with 37 schools. Teams in the new Division I will be comprised of schools with male enrollments of 608 or more.

Each of the other six divisions will have between 105 and 109 schools.

The top 16 will qualify in both of the Division I regions while the top eight in each region will make the playoffs in Divisions II-VII.

Central Ohio schools in the new Division I Southern Region will be Pickerington North, Lancaster and Pickerington Central from Fairfield County and Gahanna Lincoln, Dublin Coffman, Grove City, Groveport, Reynoldsburg, Hilliard Davidson, Upper Arlington, Westland, Westerville South, Central Crossing, Westerville North and Hilliard Darby from Franklin County. In the new Division I Northern Region will be Westerville Central, Olentangy Liberty and Delaware Hayes from Delaware County.

Competing in Division II (enrollment of 403-607) from central Ohio will be Olentangy Orange, Olentangy, Hilliard Bradley, New Albany, Thomas Worthington, Dublin Jerome, Dublin Scioto, St. Charles, Northland, Whetstone, Worthington Kilbourne, Franklin Heights, Briggs, Canal Winchester, Walnut Ridge, Columbus West and Hamilton Township.

Teams from the area in the new Division III (enrollment of 281-402) will be Big Walnut, Buckeye Valley, Centennial, Marion-Franklin, Whitehall, Mifflin, Independence, Brookhaven, Beechcroft, DeSales, Eastmoor Academy, Granville and Hebron Lakewood.

In Division IV (enrollment of 213-280) will be Columbus South, Watterson, Linden-McKinley, Bexley, Columbus East, Licking Valley, Heath, Johnstown and Utica.

Hartley and Northridge will compete in Division V (enrollment of 156-212) and Ready, Columbus Academy, Newark Catholic and Grandview will be in Division VI (enrollment of 112-155).

Africentric, Grove City Christian and Fairfield Christian will be in the new Division VII (enrollment of 111 and less).