Marysville wins third straight district title, advances five to state


The Marysville High School wrestling team isn’t taking its third consecutive Division I district championship for granted.

With three district champions and five state qualifiers Feb. 21-22 at Hilliard Darby, the Monarchs scored 147.5 points to top a field that had 37 teams score.

Westerville North (120.5) was second, followed by Central Crossing (90), Delaware (88) and Mount Vernon and Pickerington North (86.5).

Winning championships for the Monarchs were Hayden Lee (113 pounds), David Sparks (138) and Austin Pfarr (220).

The state tournament is Feb. 27-March 1 at Ohio State.

“We were excited coming into it,” Monarchs coach Shawn Andrews said. “This never gets old. We're excited to win three in a row (and) four out of five. (Having) guys win a district title puts them in a better spot for next week.”

Winning titles for Westerville North were Nick Kramer (195) and Gage Archer (heavyweight).

Also capturing championships were Bradley’s C.J. Campbell (106) and Jake Stratton (170), Olentangy Liberty’s Jon Furnas (120), Central Crossing’s Joshua Wimer (126), Hilliard Davidson’s Bobby Smith (132), Pickerington Central’s Aaron Yarger (152) and Olentangy’s Cody Pollitt (160).

Hartley captures title in Division III

With three champions and four total state qualifiers, Hartley won its first Division III district championship Feb. 21-22 at Heath.

The Hawks scored 107.5 points to edge runner-up Paint Valley (96). West Jefferson (76), Ready (70.5) and Centerburg (65) rounded out the top five.

Winning titles for Hartley were Kristopher Hill (113), Grant Rathburn (138) and Jared Croswell (220). Patrik Garren (heavyweight) was first for Ready.

Also earning championships were Northridge’s Jake Adkins (106) and Robert Mickey (160) and Newark Catholic’s Caleb Ohl (126).

“We talked about it all week that if everybody does their jobs we could win (the district title),” Hill said.

Three area Division II wrestlers win titles

Big Walnut’s Alec Eisnnicher (170), Johnstown’s Clayton Bullard (195) and Granville’s Dain Steffeny (152) all won Division II district titles Feb. 21-22 at Uhrichsville Claymont.

Licking Valley had four state qualifiers and finished fourth (82.5) to lead central Ohio teams. Host Claymont (279.5) was first.


For localized coverage of this weekend’s postseason events in each of our 24 community editions, visit ThisWeekSPORTS.com throughout the coming week for in-depth reports on this weekend’s postseason action from our award-winning sportswriters. 

ThisWeekSPORTS.com. All high school sports. All the time.