Rosters set for District 10 all-star games


Four players from the Division III state champion Africentric Early College girls basketball team and Kevin Vannatta from the Division I state runner-up Upper Arlington boys squad are among those expected to participate in District 10 all-star games April 6 at New Albany.

Vannatta, a UNC-Asheville-signee who was the OCC-Central Division Player of the Year, will lead the OCC all-stars against the City League in a game slated for 5 p.m.

Also on the OCC team will be Westerville Central’s Eric James, who verbally has committed to Duquesne and was the OCC-Cardinal Division Player of the Year.

The City League team will be led by Columbus West’s Charles Holland, who averaged an area-best 25 points, and Derek McKeithen and Shemar Waugh, who each helped Northland earn a Division I regional runner-up finish.

The girls all-star game will be held at 2 p.m.

Among those on the Red team will be three Division I recruits who led Africentric to the state title in Alexa Hart (Ohio State), Alexis Parks (Western Michigan) and Darianne Seward (Detroit Mercy) as well as Sierra Harley.

The Blue team will feature Upper Arlington’s Andi Norman, who will play for Dartmouth, Worthington Kilbourne’s all-time leading scorer in Kayla Pack, and Reynoldsburg’s Nicole Orr, a Butler-signee.

The Division II-III-IV boys game will be held at 3:30 p.m.

The Red team will be coached by Don Worstell, who led Ready to a Division III state semifinal, and also will feature Josh Gantz and Jimmy Hanley from the Silver Knights and Andy Grieser, Matt Hughes and Matt Lehmann from Division II state runner-up Watterson.

Leading the Blue team will be Sam Condon and Seth Weygandt, who helped Worthington Christian to a Division III district title, and Hartley’s Chris Moxley, who was the Division III district Player of the Year.

All-Star Rosters

Below are rosters for the District 10 all-star games April 6 at New Albany:

(2 p.m.)

Red team (coach Matt Jaynes, Briggs) — Alexis Britford, Hartley; Jaliesha Gillis, Columbus East; Sierra Harley, Africentric; Alexa Hart, Africentric; Taylor Kilgore-Barr, Walnut Ridge; Macy McCollister, Madison Plains; Alexis Parks, Africentric; Brooklynn Peterson, Northland; Caroline Riewe, Ready; Darianne Seward, Africentric; Ali Spayde, Worthington Christian

Blue team (coach Joel Baker, Teays Valley) — Bri Bell, Dublin Scioto; Kyle Croxton, Upper Arlington; Michaela Dorsey, Central Crossing; Lea Edler, Hilliard Davidson; Laura Gomez, Thomas Worthington; Shelby Haworth, Hilliard Bradley; Trinity Hunter, Gahanna; Andi Norman, Upper Arlington; Nicole Orr, Reynoldsburg; Kayla Pack, Worthington Kilbourne; Caitlyn Snyder, Hilliard Darby; Griffin Tullis, Dublin Coffman; Madison Watson, Dublin Jerome

(3:30 p.m.)

Red team (coach Don Worstell, Ready) — Brok Bennett, London; Zach Carey, London; Josh Gantz, Ready; Andy Grieser, Watterson; Jimmy Hanley, Ready; Matt Hughes, Watterson; Matt Lehmann, Watterson; Luke Miller, Grandview; Hayden Stofcheck, North Union; Austin Terrill, North Union

Blue team (coach Chris Timlin, Grove City Christian) — Malik Breckenridge, Independence; Sam Condon, Worthington Christian; Gyai Gyamerah, Centennial; Michael Howard, Grove City Christianl; Jonathan Kornberg, Columbus Academy; Octavius Luke, Centennial; Chris Moxley, Hartley; Sam Nolan, Bexley; Drew Onega, Hartley; Seth Weygandt, Worthington Christian

(5 p.m.)

City (coach Scott Williams, Marion-Franklin) — J.J. Curry, Columbus East; Sean Hennessy, St. Charles; Charles Holland, Columbus West; Nate Jamison, Eastmoor Academy; Derek McKeithen, Northland; Aaron Mullins, Columbus South; Tyler Primmer, Teays Valley; Jaylen Tucker, Northland; Dametrius Walker, Marion-Franklin; Shemar Waugh, Northland

OCC (coach Donovon Barrett, Westerville Central) — Michael Chambers, Worthington Kilbourne; Akiean Frederick, Franklin Heights; Travis Gleason, Reynoldsburg; R.J. Hutcherson, Westerville North; Eric James, Westerville Central; Jalen Malone, Westerville Central; Darrell Miller, New Albany; Manny Powell, Gahanna; Yemi Sholesi, Thomas Worthington; Kevin Vannatta, Upper Arlington