Upper Arlington News

Nominations sought for UA Wall of Honor


Upper Arlington city officials and historical preservationists once again are seeking nominations to posthumously honor those who have had an impact on the local community and beyond.

Nominations for 2014 inductees into the Upper Arlington Wall of Honor will be accepted through Friday, Jan. 10, city officials announced last week.

A panel of Upper Arlington city staffers and members of the Upper Arlington Historical Society will review the nominees and past candidates, and is expected to name the latest inductees in February.

On Sunday, May 18, those selected will be formally commemorated with bronze plaques to be installed at the Upper Arlington Municipal Services Center Plaza.

"This is really to honor people that have made significant contributions within the city, the state or beyond," historical society President Charlie Groezinger said. "There are some pretty incredible people who have lived in Upper Arlington.

"We think this is a great honor for people to be recognized permanently on the Wall. We hope it's an honor for families to see their loved one recognized for their contributions, and it provides that recognition throughout the community."

The Wall of Honor was established in 1990 and made possible through a partnership between the Upper Arlington Historical Society and the city's Parks and Recreation Department.

There currently are 33 Wall of Honor members. Past honorees include King G. Thompson (1990), Wayne Woodrow "Woody" Hayes (1991), Dr. Arthur G. James (2002), Ohio Gov. James A. Rhodes (2003) and Stefanie Spielman (2010).

"The Wall of Honor is an important part of our city's history," said Beth Sharb, Upper Arlington community affairs coordinator. "It allows us to reflect on the former residents who have enriched life for all in Upper Arlington."

According to the qualifications criteria, nominees must be deceased and must have lived in Upper Arlington at some point.

They also must be outstanding in achievement in the arts, professions, politics, science, education, sports, religion, commerce, philanthropy or public service; have a reputation that brings honor to the community or personal commitment and service to the community; or had a lasting impact for the good of the community.

In addition to new nominations, the review committee also considers past nominees for at least five years.

Nomination forms can be obtained online at uaoh.net, or by calling 614-583-5300.