Upper Arlington News

Annual awards

Students honored for being catalysts for positive change


Syntero honored 70 northwest area high school students for their character and community service May 9 at the Catalyst for Positive Change awards breakfast held at The Boat House at Confluence Park.

Students from 14 high schools were selected for the honor by their schools for embodying trustworthiness, fairness, caring, respect, citizenship and responsibility and for service to their school and community, said Jim Seguin, vice chairman of Syntero's board of directors.

Formerly known as the All Star Salute, the name and criteria for the annual event were changed "to better align with our services and our mission at Syntero," CEO/Executive Director Julie Erwin-Rinaldi said.

Syntero operates Dublin Counseling Center and Northwest Counseling Services.

Students from each school were called up to receive their awards while a speaker related some of their community service activities and characteristics that meet the six pillars.

The honored students from each school are:

• Bishop Watterson High School: Abby Andrews, Mason Fisher, Nicolette Leon, Griffin Maxwell and Brayden Steller.

• Centennial High School: Keyonna Allen, Mahmud Bari, Manal El Hayba, Jenna Herron and Tyler Shaw.

• Columbus Academy: Margaret Kaye, Alexandra Keith, Leya Moshin, Riley Ransom and Kendall Silwonuk.

• Columbus School for Girls: Kirby Boes, Melissa Cottone, Aisha Iftikhar, Noa Levi and Paige Quinton.

• Grandview Heights High School: Ameila Akers, Tenley Aufdencamp, Zach Brannan, Sam Callison and Sierra Dobbs-Brown.

• Hilliard Bradley High School: Robert Castillo, Naima Ilmi, Alima Kargbo, Hadley Pettit and Darian Sorenson.

• Hilliard Darby High School: Madison Baumer, Noah Cochran, Katherine Kallis, Abigail Niehaus and Siddartha Revur.

• Hilliard Davidson High School: Erin Beaber, Kyle Heinlen, Brianne Moore, Kyle Rader and Christina Rodas.

• Metro Early College High School: Madeline Allaire, Ansel Kristan Firmalan, Alexander Hatter, Aseel Houmsse and Rebekah Immel.

• St. Charles Preparatory School: Ian Ferguson, Joseph Landers, Tyler McMaken, Elliott Narcross and Remy Powell.

• Graham School: Mary Doyle, Savannah Hadinger, Teresa Rounds, Deschenes "Shane" Roussi and August Young.

• Wellington School: Zoe Case, Anthony Davis, Christopher Jones, Tova Seltzer and Emma Steele.

• Upper Arlington High School: Sarah Baryluk, Chase Greenlee, Curtis Jepson, Tobey Kegley and Joshua Shapiro.

• Whetstone High School: Gemma Bush, Andrew Carringer, Rachel Gaunce, Madeline O'Malley and Matthew Ray.

Keynote speaker David Brown, founder and creative director of The Harmony Project, congratulated the students for being catalysts for change.

Rather than just accept life as it is, "(we) need to look at the world and figure out what we need to change," he said.

"We all need the same access to opportunity and the same chance to pursue our dreams."

No matter the level of resources and support they receive, Brown told the students, "What you can do is decide for yourself what is your goal and what is your place to pursue and decide 'These are the things I can change.' "