West Side News

Schreiner appointed to seat on SWCS board


The South-Western Board of Education voted unanimously Monday, July 8 to appoint former district teacher Lee Schreiner to fill the vacant seat on the board.

Schreiner, a Grove City resident, will complete the term of Jo Ellen Myers, who resigned from the board June 24 because of her family's move to Florida.

Myers term runs through the end of this year and the seat on the five-member board will be on the ballot for a new four-year term this fall.

Schreiner said Monday he had already decided to run for the school board in November, even before Myers announced her resignation.

"It's just an honor to serve on the school board," Schreiner said. "I'm humbled that they chose me."

He said he wants to serve on the board "as a payback to this district" where he worked for 37 years as a gifted education teacher at the elementary level.

"I'm passionate about education and passionate about the South-Western school district," he said. "My children attended school in this district.

"We're a big and diverse school district, but our focus is always centered on (what's best) for our students," Schreiner said. "This is a special place."

Since his retirement as a teacher, Schreiner has worked as a national trainer and presenter/ speaker on topics such as intergenerational mentoring and creativity, giftedness, invention and innovation.

He serves as the director at Retired OEA-R/NEA-R, an organization serving retired teachers.

"I hope I've gained some wisdom from the things I've done in my career and that I can bring that to the board," Schreiner said.

Board President Randy Reisling said Schreiner stood out among the candidates who applied for the board vacancy, "not only for his longtime devotion to public education, but his wide breadth of knowledge about education at the state, national and local level."

The other candidates for the seat were William Hanna, Michael Rhett, Stephen Torsell and Adam Slane, a Westland Area Commission member who ran for the school board in 2009.