Westerville News & Public Opinion


Summit to focus on opportunities for women


A weekend summit at Otterbein University will center on colleges’ role in creating opportunities for women in the 21st century.

Otterbein will host Opportunity Nation March 9 and 10.

Speakers at the event will be prominent business women, including keynote speaker Jo Luck, former president of Heifer International, a World Food Prize laureate and an advocate for hunger, poverty and agricultural issues worldwide; national service expert Shirley Sagawa; American Association of Colleges and Universities senior vice president Caryn McTighe Musil; and MSNBC anchor Chris Jansing.

Kerrii Anderson, former president and CEO of Wendy’s International, will serve as honorary chair of the event.

The summit will offer five tracks for participants, including raising awareness of the institutional and structural obstacles facing women, developing new strategies in higher education that support the flourishing of women, cultivating meaningful and sustainable community partnerships to create opportunities, training a new generation to become social change agents and unleashing resources to transform the everyday experiences of women and girls.

The summit will include a Student Leadership Institute for college students; an “Ask Legal” series that will address legal issues in social change; IN/vent Tents, where people can stop to talk about obstacles facing women or creating pathways for women; a Community Action Poverty Simulation, in which participants will role-play as members of a family living in poverty or as community service providers.

The World Café will lead conversations on questions that matter to those committed to cultivating more opportunities for women and girls.

A “Hunger Banquet” will provide participants with stories about and the average meals of low-, middle- and upper-class people.

Those interested in the summit can find information or register at www.otterbein.edu/opportunitynation.

The cost to attend the summit is $25 for students, or $75 for others.