Westerville News & Public Opinion

Cherrington students inducted into safety hall of fame

From 6,000 Ohio submissions, 10 students have been chosen for induction into the AAA Ohio Safety Patrol Hall of Fame. Three attend Cherrington Elementary School in Westerville -- fifth graders Nick McConnell and Andrew DeVictor and fourth grader Elizabeth Potterf.

Roger Fleegle, a teacher's aide and Safety Patrol coordinator, nominated the trio after they passed a series of tests. He kept track of things such as attendance, punctuality and whether students came prepared to serve with their belts, flags and badges.

After the field was narrowed from about 35 to 12 to 15, he administered a Safety Patrol quiz, scoring students on the 10 characteristics the AAA looks for in patrol candidates. Students then advanced to an essay round, which was scored blindly by teachers. This is the second time Cherrington has had triple winners.

Hall of Fame inductees and their families will receive tickets to the Columbus Clippers game on Safety Patrol Night, May 10. Prizes will be awarded that evening and the students will be recognized at a banquet.