Westerville News & Public Opinion

Cross Country

North boys capture district title


Kent Ford of the Westerville North High School boys cross country team won the Division I, district 1 meet in 16 minutes, 55.71 seconds and teammate Jacob Dumford was .27 seconds behind in second place as the Warriors scored 45 points and captured the team title Oct. 20 at Watkins Memorial.

Evan Larrick was 13th (17:29.43) for North, followed by Matt Parkhurst (14th, 17:30.1), Nicholas Chatel (15th, 17:31.54), Phillip Horn (19th, 17:40.09) and Trevor Dilley (43rd, 18:21.71) as the Warriors edged runner-up Pickerington North by three points in the 13-team race.

Led by Heather Sandvik's second consecutive victory (19:10.04), North's girls scored 98 points to finish third behind champion Hilliard Davidson (35) in the 14-team district 1 meet and secure a berth in the regional Saturday, Oct. 27, at Pickerington North. Haley Sandvik was eighth for the Warriors in 20:01.2, followed by Heidi Engelhardt (19th, 20:41.56), Jocelyn Sharpe (33rd, 21:29.95), Mary Swatzell (37th, 21:38.47), Sarah Koch (43rd, 21:50.02) and Anna Kocak (51st, 22:29.64).

Heather Sandvik also won the OCC-Cardinal Division meet Oct. 13 at Hilliard Darby in 18:07.94 after not winning a race during the regular season.

The top five teams and top 20 individuals in districts 1 and 2, and top six teams and top 24 individuals in district 3, advanced to regional.

Westerville South's Greg Smith and Westerville Central's Dana Roberts qualified as individuals. Smith was 10th (17:26.21) in district 1, and Roberts finished 14th (20:23.46) in district 1.

The Warhawks and Wildcats boys and girls did not advance as teams.

Central's boys scored 207 points and finished seventh in the 18-team district 3 meet. Dustin Edens was 27th for the Warhawks (17:34.31), followed by Craig Martin (31st, 17:50.76), Brandon Shaw (42nd, 18:16.25), Bernie Skubak (44th, 18:17.65), Conor Hollern (63rd, 19:59.61), Joel Schmelzer (64th, 20:00.98) and Luke McMenemy (75th, 20:45.28).

The Warhawks girls were seventh (177) in district 1. Runners behind Roberts were Natalie Pinney (32nd, 21:29.04), Macy Leach (39th, 21:47.32), Meagan Jahn (45th, 21:53.3), Gracie Boden (47th, 22:14.27), Lauren Barry (66th, 22:56.36) and Allison Henson (71st, 23:10.28).

Nick Vermaaten was 24th (17:52.77) as South's boys scored 185 points and were seventh in district 1. Other Wildcats runners were Derek Wei (49th, 18:33.77), Tyler Whitney (50th, 18:38.03), Jake Yavorsky (52nd, 18:42.42), Reed Watkins (57th, 18:47.35) and Grant Gwin (69th, 19:09.89).

Lauren Frank's 40th-place finish led South's girls to 299 points and a 12th-place finish in district 1. The Wildcats' other runners were Jenna Fudale (59th, 22:48.6), Jada Smoot (67th, 22:59.72), Victoria Husain (68th, 23:01.5), Taylor Moore (69th, 23:03.12), Alexandra Whaley (79th, 23:32.12) and Caryn Snide (92nd, 26:02.2).

From the regional, the top four teams and top 16 individuals advance to the state meet Nov. 3 at National Trail Raceway.