Westerville News & Public Opinion


South tops Central to end regular season

The Westerville South High School wrestling team closed the regular season by defeating visiting Westerville Central 45-28 on Feb. 7.

Winners by pin for South were Evan Pivetz at 120 pounds (1 minute, 53 seconds), Nick Lomano at 138 (3:15) and Caleb Llaneza at 145 (1:22).

Other winners for the Wildcats were Deshawn Casserly at 113 (8-7), Grant Trainer at 160 (9-4) and Mike Thesing at 170 (10-7).

Korey Boggs at 126, Zach Wachalec at 195 and Adam Thesing at 220 won by forfeit.

South will compete in a 10-team Division I sectional tournament Saturday, Feb. 16, at Pickerington North. Other teams include second-seeded Mount Vernon, fifth-seeded Hilliard Darby and ninth-seeded Olentangy Liberty.

The top four individuals in each weight class from the Pickerington North, Marysville, Watkins Memorial and Westland sectionals will advance to the district tournament Feb. 22 and 23 at Darby.

In the OCC-Cardinal Division, South finished sixth (2-5) behind Darby (7-0), Hilliard Bradley (6-1), Westerville North (5-2), Worthington Kilbourne (4-3) and Dublin Jerome (3-4) and ahead of Dublin Scioto (1-6) and Westerville Central (0-7).

Warhawks to compete at Pickerington North

Central will join South at the Pickerington North sectional.

Against South, winners by pin were Will Green at 132 (4:32), Emil Cooper at 182 (4:20) and Isayah Walker at heavyweight (4:50).

Alex Krasovec won 12-0 at 152 and Ben Haines won by forfeit at 106.

Warriors end regular season with victory

North ended the regular season by defeating host Scioto 54-24 on Feb. 7 in a league match.

Winners by pin were Santino DiSabato at 113 (1:00), Nick Durieux at 132 (54 seconds), Hunter Sintobin at 152 (1:38), Shane Coulter at 182 (2:31) and Andy Struttmann at 220 (1:52).

Kevin Diaz at 126 (24-8) and Thomas Wiley at 160 (16-1) won by technical fall.

Other winners were Brandon Goldsmith at 138 (13-11) and Jeremiah Ferguson at 145 (13-3).

Nic Kramer won by forfeit at 195.

The Warriors will compete in the 10-team Marysville sectional. North is seeded eighth in the district behind top-seeded Marysville.

--Frank DiRenna