Westerville News & Public Opinion


Westerville North advances 11 to district tournament

The Westerville North High School wrestling team qualified 11 competitors for the Division I district tournament after finishing second (211.5 points) in a 10-team sectional Feb. 16 at Marysville behind the host Monarchs (265.5).

The district tournament will be held Friday, Feb. 22, and Saturday, Feb. 23, at Hilliard Darby. The top four individuals in each weight class will advance to state Feb. 28 through March 2 at Ohio State.

Winning sectional titles were Santino DiSabato at 113 pounds, Jacob Hinz at 152 and Shane Coulter at 182.

Also advancing to district were Jeremiah Ferguson at 145 (second), Nic Kramer at 195 (second), Mike Kline at 126 (third), Nick Durieux at 132 (third), Nick Perrotti at 170 (third), Gage Archer at heavyweight (third), Todd Cumer at 120 (fourth) and Andy Struttmann at 220 (fourth).

Also competing but failing to advance were Brandon Goldsmith (138, fifth, 2-2) and Mason Pillow (160, fifth, 2-2). Both are district alternates.

South sending four to district

South was sixth (103) in the 10-team sectional at Pickerington North behind champion Hilliard Darby (212.5) as four Wildcats qualified for district.

Evan Trainer finished first at 160. Also advancing were Evan Pivetz (126, second), Caleb Llaneza (145, third) and Adam Thesing (220, fourth).

Also competing at sectional but failing to advance were Korey Boggs (120, 0-2), Kevin Lam (132, sixth, 1-3), Nick Lomano (138, 0-2), Grant Trainer (152, sixth, 1-3), Mike Thesing (170, fifth, 2-2), Zach Wachalec (195, fifth, 2-2) and Jake Chrisman (heavyweight, 0-2). Thesing and Wachalec are district alternates.

Central qualifies two for district

Central placed ninth (36) in the Pickerington North sectional and qualified two wrestlers for district.

Advancing were Alex Krasovec at 152 and Isayah Walker at heavyweight. Both finished fourth.

Also competing at sectional but failing to advance were Ben Haines (106, sixth, 1-3), Triston Mayes (113, sixth, 1-3), Jason Relford (120, 0-2), William Green (132, 1-2), Sky Hinton (138, 0-2), John Fitzgibbon (145, 0-2), Justin Mills (160, 0-2), Emil Cooper (182, 0-2) and Ivan Romero-Bautista (220, 0-2).

--Frank DiRenna